Equipment advise

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Newbneedshelp

Aquarium Advice Freak
well of course im new to this hobby and i was just wondering if anyone could help me choose the best equipment or brand for a tank and equipment. imo looking to buy a 20-30 gallon tank.

Get a 45 long... (nudge nudge) Don't bother with the kits buy all the components individually if you can. I have:

Visa Therm Submersible Heater. They are great and pretty accurate. Get a real thermometer.

I have a 58 gallon Oceanic Tank but I only got it because it was sale I couldn't pass up

Well, for new hobbyists. It all depends on what kind of fish you want to keep. If I were you I wouldn't go with anything too small e.g) 10g, or something or big e.g) 55-100g.

For new hobbyists, a 20-29g is necessary.(well imo). I have to agree with webmoose about buying supplies individually becuase most kits have low quality brands, thats why it's cheaper to buy a kit.

For filtration, I would suggest a H.O.B(hang on back) powered filter, i would suggest aqua clear brands.

You'll need a heater possibly a 50-100watt, submerisble or hang on back.. temperature should stay around 70s...

all deco brands will be up to you.

for lighting, flourescent is best as they don't cause much heat and they have a brighter view instead of incadescent bulbs giving a tint of yellow and causing more heat.

I like JBJ lighting, they are a bit pricey, but it is worth buying them.

anything esle you need to know, please post more questions..

Longs are better than talls for most fish. The added surface area means you can stock it slightly fuller than if you had a tall tank. As far as brands Im not sure if there is much of a differance in the tanks themselves. Filters there are big variations. Do you know what you plan on keeping in the way of fish yet.