equipment options

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

snickers450

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hey guys..i am new to this hobby..i have some question regarding on some equipments..i am planning on purchasing a 75 gal tank (SW)..and i am stuck on choosing what is the right filter to buy..i looked at FLUVAL 305 (for 70 gal) or FLUVAL 405 (for 100 gal)..i was told that its ok to have a higher type of equipment than less..is it true?..does it goes with other equipments?..please help guys..TIA..

Go with the "oversized" filter. Unless you have your tank to the point that you're blowing the fish around, you're not going to over-filter. In a lot of cases, it seems like the manufacturers over rate them anyway.

Agree. The consensus on these forums is to spend a little more money for more filtration. It cannot hurt. The is a ton of information here. Just surf the forums manually, or use the search function for specific items. Good luck.

I'd also vote on the overfiltration idea. You can never have too much filtering in my opinion.

Though I have to ask, do you not have enough room underneath the tank for a sump? You would probably see better results if you went with the sump over a canister as far as saltwater.

I in fact use a fluval on my 55g sw and have found it to work really well, combined with a hang on back skimmer I was able to maintain 0 nitrates in that tank. Just keep in mind that a canister involves alot more maintaining than a sump does. I use the fluval pretty much formechanical filtration. I run carbon and biomedia in my compartments with some filter floss on top to shine up the water a bit. :)