Equipment: which path to take

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mart242

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm thinking of buying a fishtank (as mentionned in another thread) and am considering multiple options... size unknown for now but thinking that ~50 - 65 gallons would be a good start.

Since I have no experience and am not too sure of what I want, what would be the best approach in terms of filter, lights, and other misc items purchase? My wife and I want colorful fishes with some cool plants...

Lights: I'd eventually like to have plants because they look really cool, should I fork out some big $$$ for lights right away? I don't know if I'd go with low light plants or not.. would it be simply a bulb to replace? Is PC the way to go in my case? Does # of lumens / watts needed depends on tank height?

Fiilter: If I want something quiet, I need a canister right? Some plants (or was it fishes?) require not too much water movement and peoples were recommending not more than 5x turnover but for some other fishes, you need 10x. Picking the wrong filter can turn out expensive, unless that's only for HOB filters?

Should I plan for redudancy (2x heaters, 2x filters? but that seems overkill... and expensive!! especially with canister filters)

On top of this I guess that I need to buy a cheap 10 gallon tank w/ heater, filter and light to put my new fishes in quarantine?

man that's getting confusing... but at least I'm doing my research before even buying!

Bigger is better in tanks IMO. They are easier to care for and keep stable.

Filtration, larger tanks can usually benefit from a couple of filters. I use two cannisters on my 125 gal but on my 75 gal I use a HOB and a cannister. There are HOB's that are quiet as can be. Some you can hear the water splashing a bit but that is a personal preference.