Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-07-2013, 07:51 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Talbot1177's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 38
External filter

I have a rio 125, and it's abit over stocked I was wondering if I added an external filter to work with the internal one would that help my nitrate level?
__________________

__________________
Talbot1177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 10:23 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Slade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Leland, NC
Posts: 527
More filtration will always help. By external do you mean canister or sump? If its a canister you can use it for mainly bio filtration to get more time between changes.
__________________

__________________
Slade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 11:10 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Talbot1177's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 38
Can't afford a sump set up, was just thinking an external filter (canister)
__________________
Talbot1177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 12:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Talbot1177's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 38
Any recommendations?
__________________
Talbot1177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:18 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
Im pretty new to all this, but I dont think extra filtration will help with nitrates. Its my understanding that nitrates will always be increasing and the only way to lower them is through water changes.
__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyne View Post
Im pretty new to all this, but I dont think extra filtration will help with nitrates. Its my understanding that nitrates will always be increasing and the only way to lower them is through water changes.
You are correct. I have a Nitrate issue myself. They are +40 from my tap, so upon a recommendation from Rivercats, I plant some Water Sprite. I have no clue about plants but it is classed as a beginners plant and very easy to grow and care for. It is also excellent at removing Nitrates. Hopefully it does the trick. It is not a substitute for weekly water changes though!!!
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 11:34 PM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Nitrates are not that harmful to most fish


If you have nitrates below 100 ppm I wouldn't lose any sleep over it

You can never have to much filtration

You can lower nitrates by adding more plants or doing more water changes most people have nitrates in tap water so they can never get them down to 0 even if they change all the water

If you know you are over stocked yes add the external filter as it will turn the waste into nitrate faster so you won't have any ammonia or nitrite which are toxic to fish

I would recommend adding the filter and do 1-2 25% water changes per week all depending how over stocked you are

Or the much easier and cheaper option would be to lower your stock levels lol

There iOS a stocked level guide that says 1" per gallon but that rule is rubbish or I would be able to keep 1000" of fish in my tank I only have about 100" of fish and I would say I'm over stocked lol
__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 05:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Talbot1177's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 38
I have just added a 300 litre external filter with my juwel internal. I do 25% water changes every week.
__________________
Talbot1177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 08:19 PM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talbot1177 View Post
I have just added a 300 litre external filter with my juwel internal. I do 25% water changes every week.
If it was me I would cut the juwel internal out they are a waste of tank space
__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 07:00 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fidgetromeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 143
In my experience, the juwel internal filters do a good job once theyre matured.
__________________

__________________
Fidgetromeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
external, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.