Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-14-2013, 10:48 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
Filling Up My Tank

Ok, so I need to know if I am missing something. I have live sand, going to get my RODI water from LFS today. I need to put sand in empty tank. Next fill with RODI water. Is this correct?
__________________

__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 12:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
IMO if your using premixed salt water your good to go. If your going to mix your salt then you should mix it and let it stand for a day befor adding it to the tank.
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 12:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 45
Yes you are correct

Put sand in and then add water streaming off the side of glass as not to blow the sand everywhere
__________________
doaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 12:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
That's how I did it. There are some good YouTube videos how people have done it to help with cloudiness in the water. It still will be, but there are some good tricks.
__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
erichm20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 651
I would rinse the sand first then put in the bottom and put a dinner plate on it then pour the water straight onto the plate. It's going to be cloudy no matter what but I did the plate thing and it was a little better.
__________________
erichm20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 45
I would recommend NOT washing your live sand

You will remove the "live" bacteria off the sand that you are wanting.

From the bag to the aquarium then add the premixed saltwater from lfs.

That's what I did and quicker cycle and much healthier tank

Kb
__________________
doaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigbooker View Post
Ok, so I need to know if I am missing something. I have live sand, going to get my RODI water from LFS today. I need to put sand in empty tank. Next fill with RODI water. Is this correct?
If you have live sand DO NOT fill the tank with RO/DI water it will kill the bacti fill with salt water also DO NOT rinse the live sand Best way is fill the tank 2/3 full with saltwater or RO/DI then add the salt mix Bring the SG to 1.025 add any rock then add the live sand after things settle finish filling with more saltwater
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 03:00 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
erichm20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 651
I really don't think anything that comes in a bag is alive. It's the little packet of starter that supposedly makes it live sand. I would just buy premixed saltwater from the lfs rather than rodi then mixing it yourself.
__________________
erichm20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:17 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
Thanks for the info. Will probably get my premix saltwater today from LFS.
__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 05:24 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
So I acquired an RO/DI system and premixed my saltwater overnight. I put my Key Largo rock from Marco's in the tank. I have one hydor Koralia 600 - 3200/850 providing flow. What filters the debris at the top of tank? I have an Emporer 400B, should I put that on the tank?
__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 05:25 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
Photo of tank from end.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4223752460.jpg
Views:	366
Size:	116.4 KB
ID:	204376
__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 05:27 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1360150915.jpg
Views:	348
Size:	95.7 KB
ID:	204377

From front. Still some sediment/debris floating at top.
__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 07:07 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Fill your HOB filter with poly-fill and let it run it will clean up your water after it's clean rinse the ploy fill and save it. You can reuse it.
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 11:18 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
It worked!!



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3286542814.jpg
Views:	330
Size:	100.6 KB
ID:	204432


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-210128007.jpg
Views:	333
Size:	78.5 KB
ID:	204433
__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 08:45 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Now get that puppy cycled. Then get some livestock in there
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:47 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
So I put Bio spira in the tank to get the coralean growing. What else do I need to do?
__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 04:43 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Bio spria wont start coraline growth it helps to start the bio cycle (Cycling a Saltwater Aquarium) that makes you tank safe to add fish. To start coraline algae growth you'll need a small piece of rock that has some on it. This will seed the tank. Keep up with water changes and it will soon become a pain in the neck lol
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 08:31 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
So do I need to test for ammonia and nitrate/nitrite levels next?
__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 08:38 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
If you didnt use all live rock then you will have to introduce an ammonia source. At that point you would then start testing to see how the cycle moves forward, ammonia, nitrites and then nitrates.
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 09:10 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
Should I go to the LFS and get a piece of live rock?
__________________

__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×