Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-13-2005, 05:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Keller Va
Posts: 90
filter backup

ive had my tank up and running fine but just a few days ago my filter began to barely sputer water back in and it just goes up the tube and right back out the tube, whats the deal with this? is it my filter or biobag thing?
__________________

__________________
1667-Bubonic Plague-Never Forget
LestWeForget13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 05:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chandler,Az
Posts: 288
Does any water go through the filter? If not you could have lost the prime on your pump so your impeller isn't drawing any water just air. Fill up your filter with water and make sure theres no air where the impeller sits. It should start up.
__________________

__________________
80 gallon FW:3 clown loaches, 2 angels, bloodfin tetras and 1 albino BN pleco,1 Farlowella.
46 gallon FW: kuhli loaches, otos, black neon and black phantom tetras, 3 pitbull plecos.
50 gallon SW: 1 green spotted puffer
penpitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 07:38 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
What kind of filter is it? Also, make sure the water level is high enough for it to draw the water up.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 09:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Keller Va
Posts: 90
it can suck up water fine, its and HOB filter. but the problem is when the filtered water comes back out, its barely trickling out. it just kind of overflows and come back where the tube went into the filter
__________________
1667-Bubonic Plague-Never Forget
LestWeForget13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 09:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 351
Send a message via MSN to Kasakato
Which model/brand is it? Can we get a picture?
__________________
Kasakato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 10:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chandler,Az
Posts: 288
Maybe your filterpad is too dirty or in someother way to constricted so water cant pass through. If your filter pad is the slide in type, like those found on Whisper and Top Fin brands, the water wont go through very well if the pad is too dirty. And with the way the filter slides in it can act like a dam and prevent water from crossing. The water will look for the easiest path and likely go back down the intake tube side of the filter. Thats why I like the Aquaclear brand hob because the pads at the bottom of the filter. Plus you can put more media in them.
__________________
80 gallon FW:3 clown loaches, 2 angels, bloodfin tetras and 1 albino BN pleco,1 Farlowella.
46 gallon FW: kuhli loaches, otos, black neon and black phantom tetras, 3 pitbull plecos.
50 gallon SW: 1 green spotted puffer
penpitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 11:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Keller Va
Posts: 90
yea i really dont know what brand it is becuase we got it back when we had our first tank and i was 5 i think. but it is one of the filters that has the crbon bag (?) slide ride into the top. and i think what penpitt said, i think it is damming up
__________________
1667-Bubonic Plague-Never Forget
LestWeForget13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 01:01 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
sounds liek the impeller is dirty, damaged, or the motor is going bad so it's not moving enough water.

It sounds really old...might be wiser to just replace with an AquaClear HOB.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
battery backup zilla870 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 04-24-2005 02:05 AM
Backup Power Ximat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 03-25-2005 02:38 PM
Power backup cginflorida General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 06-07-2004 08:19 PM
I need fish backup! lyquidphyre Aquaria Off-Topic 15 05-25-2004 06:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.