Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-19-2011, 07:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
richpowell1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 569
filter broke help?

Hi last night my filter broke for no reason I tried to fix it my local lfs (my best mate works there so I get alot of work free lol) tried to fix it this morning nothin happened so I bought a new fluval u4 I got to say this filter is amazing !! The problem I have is my tank is well established with fish plants the lot now I am worried that if I put my new filter in won't it harm the fish due to the fact that the filter aint been cycled? The tank has been running for over 2 years so that's fine I just don't want my new filter to kill the fish anyone got any ideas on ways I cud put it in the tank but without killing anything? Thanks rich
__________________

__________________
richpowell1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 07:50 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Manix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Posts: 161
I'm not an expert and I'm actually in the process of cycling my tank. But from all the information I've gathered in the past month I think the best thing you can do now is to transfer your old filter media to the new filter. It should give you a head start.

Hopefully the beneficial bacteria from the old filter media hasn't died due to the lack of water.

Meanwhile check your water parameters and do pwc as needed.
__________________

__________________
Manix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 07:54 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
epiphysis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Centurion, South Africa
Posts: 225
+1.

Get as much filtermedia in the new one as possible and even squeeze in the 'filter juice'.
__________________
epiphysis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 08:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
richpowell1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 569
The problem is I the old filter media is big n round n I now have a fluval u 4 the media will not fit in
__________________
richpowell1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 08:57 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
senemedar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 363
I had a similar problem, so I just cut the old media sponge to smaller pieces to fit into new filter. You have to be careful though-- I pack my filter so tight it almost stopped the water flow and in result I killed 10 Guppies, shrimp and a Glass Catfish...

As far as I'm concerned lots of bacteria is sitting in the gravel and decorations as well.

Just be careful and monitor your water parameters closely.
__________________
'When something goes wrong, do what I do-- act normal and pretend that was te plan from the beginning!' - Doctor Who.
senemedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 10:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
richpowell1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 569
Well I manger to get my old filter working but it don't sound healthy lol I am running that in my tank as well as my new one jus till my new filter is ready, how long before I Shud take my old filter out?
__________________
richpowell1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 05:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Retired_AF's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 738
I have a suggestion, although it is pretty ugly. Take the old filter and put it in the tank near the intake of the new filter. Leave it there for a couple of weeks and your filter should pick up a lot of the BB and start its own culture.
__________________
Jim
Why do I love fish? Because every time I stare into the little world I have created for them, every problem I have just floats away....
Retired_AF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 05:25 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
senemedar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 363
It's good to have them running for as long as possible, I've heard for something like two or three weeks should be ok. After that remember to check your water parameters!
__________________

__________________
'When something goes wrong, do what I do-- act normal and pretend that was te plan from the beginning!' - Doctor Who.
senemedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter Broke !!! Sisserydoo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 09-28-2011 08:38 PM
How to fast cycle with an API NEXX filter (or any filter)) zparticle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 09-11-2011 09:36 AM
How long to seed new media? mikeybabs Cichlid Discussion 5 07-10-2011 11:12 PM
900l tank my filter broke what should i do? mundy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-06-2011 02:26 PM
Ati hydro sponge filter Ant329 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-06-2011 12:57 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.