Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-27-2011, 06:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Co. Durham, UK
Posts: 142
Filter decisions on a 100G freshwater tank???

I'm slowly but surely building my 100g freshwater tank, I hav the tank 72"x18"x18", the lights and a stand, just need heaters, substrate and filter. Now I can decide weather to go with 1 fluval fx5 or 2 fluval 406's??? Can anybody tell me the pro's and cons of running either 1 huge filter or 2 slightly smaller filters?

Thanks in advance peeps
__________________

__________________
El_diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 07:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jcolon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 3,470
Send a message via AIM to jcolon Send a message via Skype™ to jcolon
This is a question I've been pondering myself as I'm considering doing a 125gal down the road. In this case the FX-5 (up to 400gal) would have more filtration capacity than the two 406's (100gal each). In my case I'd go with a single FX-5.

I suppose you could do two 406's as one would serve as a backup for the other. However, if cost isn't an issue, I'd see no reason why you couldn't go with an FX-5 and a 406 (your backup if the Fx-5 dies).
__________________

__________________
75g Planted Barbs Denison, BlackRuby, Tiger, Albino Tiger, Green Tiger, Cherry, Gold, Checkered, Odessa.
NonBarbs Cardinal, Neon, RummyNose, Bloodfin Tetras, Z. Danios. 1RTS. Amano, Bamboo, Ghost & RCS. 20g Long Shrimp Tank RCS, Tiger, Amano.
jcolon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 07:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Link119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 334
I dont see why you would need a backup. As long as you have a filter that doesnt need priming or you have a ups.
__________________
10 Gallon Planted
Link119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 09:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
Quote:
Originally Posted by Link119 View Post
I dont see why you would need a backup. As long as you have a filter that doesnt need priming or you have a ups.
A UPS isn't going to run a filter very long...
__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

http://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
100g, filter, freshwater, freshwater tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to prepare a new tank w/o a filter fishman3 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 10-10-2011 05:48 PM
Filter for FOWLR tank iamkush Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 09-21-2011 10:53 PM
40 gal filter for a 36 gal TANK?? jk315 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 09-06-2011 09:55 PM
New to forum and very frustrated with my tank! MaraLSky Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 09-04-2011 11:30 PM
Base Rock in Freshwater Tank? Buffy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-25-2011 11:39 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.