Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-17-2006, 01:53 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: north Georgia
Posts: 210
Send a message via MSN to MattAquaBio
Filter depth?

Yes, another thread from yours truly lol.
Okay i have an aquaclear power filter 50 gal hob. The intake tube only sits like six inches in the water. I'd like to extend that further down to the bottom of the tank for better filtration. Seems like as soon as the filtered water hits the tank again its sucked back into the intake. So any suggestions?
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
MattAquaBio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 10:28 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
I'm not sure but my AC70 came with an extension tube just for such an occassion. I use because I have a 30 gal tall tank (24"H). I did have to "customize" it because it almost hit the substrate. If yours did not come with one, you could probably order it online.
__________________

__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 10:33 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, Il
Posts: 158
Get some clear water safe tubing from the hardware store. Heat it a little & slide it over the intake. I've done this with all my hob filters, you can make it as long as you want. AC's will keep running during a 50% water change.
__________________
Tolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
appropriate substrate depth lmetcalf Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 12 09-10-2009 10:08 PM
pond depth emorrison33 Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 8 06-04-2004 09:03 PM
depth of ls darb2 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 9 04-20-2004 11:50 AM
depth of substrate JohnnyOneBeat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-05-2003 03:33 PM
depth of sand? e-cat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-05-2003 10:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.