Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-17-2019, 12:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
jocelynmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 50
Filter Flow Decreased

Hi there,

I run a pretty standard HOB filter on my 47 gallon tank. Yesterday I noticed the flow coming out of the filter was greatly reduced from normal. Thinking that perhaps it got adjusted somehow, I went to increase it. Well that didnít work.

The flow, at its seemingly highest setting, is now a trickle out of the filter. It used to be a steady flow with lots of movement.

Iíve attached a photo for you to see, since it wonít allow me to upload a video.

My question is what could be wrong? I took the filter off, checked the components and other than a small amount of buildup, nothing appears to be wrong. No matter what I do, this is now the max output I can seem to get. Click image for larger version

Name:	Adjustments.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	142.9 KB
ID:	314250
__________________

__________________
jocelynmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 01:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 735
Did you clean it out when you had it apart? Sometimes that's all it needs. It also could just be dying and will have to be replaced.
__________________

__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 01:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
jocelynmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaraB View Post
Did you clean it out when you had it apart? Sometimes that's all it needs. It also could just be dying and will have to be replaced.


Yup, I cleaned it out. There wasnít much, but the build up that was there I removed.

I guess I should start considering buying a replacement in the event that it does stop working.
__________________
jocelynmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 06:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Leeatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Woodstock,Ga
Posts: 306
If you have a flat sided container that will hold a gallon or so of water I would take all the media out of it and run it on the side of said container with dechlorinated water and see what the flow is . Make sure you clean the uplift tube with a brush and make sure water runs through it freely . If it runs better with no media then just put media in one at a time till it slows again and there's the culprit .
__________________
We are meant to be the stewards of the Earth and her creatures....not the masters.
Leeatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 07:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
jocelynmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeatl View Post
If you have a flat sided container that will hold a gallon or so of water I would take all the media out of it and run it on the side of said container with dechlorinated water and see what the flow is . Make sure you clean the uplift tube with a brush and make sure water runs through it freely . If it runs better with no media then just put media in one at a time till it slows again and there's the culprit .


I think I do have something that should work. So Iíll test this tomorrow.

I didnít think of removing the media because itís always been there so why would it suddenly change? Just due to media getting filled with various bacteria?
__________________
jocelynmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 08:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
jocelynmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeatl View Post
If you have a flat sided container that will hold a gallon or so of water I would take all the media out of it and run it on the side of said container with dechlorinated water and see what the flow is . Make sure you clean the uplift tube with a brush and make sure water runs through it freely . If it runs better with no media then just put media in one at a time till it slows again and there's the culprit .


I got it! The prefilter sponge was clogged. I just rinsed this when I did a PWC on Sunday, but it was the culprit as everything runs fine now.

I think it may be too dense of a sponge if it gets clogged so quickly. So Iíll revisit that and figure it out.

Thanks for the help everyone!
__________________
jocelynmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 09:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Leeatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Woodstock,Ga
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by jocelynmeyer View Post
I got it! The prefilter sponge was clogged. I just rinsed this when I did a PWC on Sunday, but it was the culprit as everything runs fine now.

I think it may be too dense of a sponge if it gets clogged so quickly. So Iíll revisit that and figure it out.

Thanks for the help everyone!
Good and yes the media gets clogged with gunk and junk....lol You can really clean the prefilter sponge under the facucet so it gets really clear and the lost bacteria won't kill the cycle . As for the internal media just wash in tank water when you do water change and it will keep enough bacteria to keep cycle going .
__________________
We are meant to be the stewards of the Earth and her creatures....not the masters.
Leeatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 09:49 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
jocelynmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeatl View Post
Good and yes the media gets clogged with gunk and junk....lol You can really clean the prefilter sponge under the facucet so it gets really clear and the lost bacteria won't kill the cycle . As for the internal media just wash in tank water when you do water change and it will keep enough bacteria to keep cycle going .


I had been cleaning the prefilter sponge regularly with water changes in the sink, but for whatever reason it got really clogged up this week! I guess I know to stay on top of it now. Thanks for the tips!
__________________

__________________
jocelynmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how much flow is too much flow mr funktastic Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-13-2013 10:34 PM
Flow meter for high flow canister? TankGirl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 03-30-2009 03:55 PM
How much flow is too much flow? mugginns Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 09-12-2007 08:18 PM
Single strong flow PH vs. Two with less flow tdthrows Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 05-27-2006 03:31 PM
Flow Flow Flow davebailey46 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 01-18-2006 11:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×