filter for a 29 gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tim1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
i am planing in getting a 29 gallon and dont know what kind of filter would be the best a whisper 20-40 gallon power filter which i have good luck with or a under gravel filter which my dad has a lot of experance with

i just got a 20 gal and i'm running an under gravel filter with a powerhead as well as a penguin bio wheel filter(up to 60 gal) since they were both cheap. this is my first tank so i did a lot of research and i never ecountered anyone or any article that said it's bad to run more than one filter system although many would say two filters on my measly 20 gal tank is overkill. it's always good to have a backup, especially with undergravel filters :p

re: u/g filter

I have a lot of experience with both types of filters. I would strongly suggest that you never use an undergravel filter. Although they work, they are not as efficient and do not add any value that you will not already have with a Penguin BioWheel.

Also, an undergravel filter pulls the waste to the bottom of the aquarium, which increases maintainance by forcing you to do more regular water changes and vacuuming of the gravel than otherwise needed. With a biowheel filter, the waste is sucked into the filter pad and is easly removed. You only need to drain & replace water, with a less regular gravel vac & less regular disturbance of your decoration layout.

An afterthought....

If you only have the Whisper as an option, then definately use an u/g filter. Although, it would be much easier long run to use only a Penguin BioWheel and discard both your Whisper & U/G filter.

Instead of a Penguin, look at an Emperor filter also made by Marineland. It has a bigger bio-wheel, bigger filter pad and is a better filter imo. Purchase it online, not in a Pet store and you'll save 50%.