Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2012, 05:19 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 381
Question Filter for sand substrate

I currently have a 29 gallon freshwater aquarium. I use sand substrate which as I have learned kills your filter. I have been through five Marineland Penguin Bio-Wheel filters, the sand just eats through th impellers which scratches the housing and ruins the filter. What type of filter is suggested for this kind of setup? Any filters in particular? I was thinking about getting an aquaclear but wasn't sure if they would have the same problem, as they are both power filters. Do I just need to get a canister or something? Are pre-filters effective, any that you can suggest? My budget is $75. Also, it would be nice if it had a compartment for a heater. Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
MarkA123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 05:35 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Cornstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York City, USA
Posts: 914
Send a message via AIM to Cornstar Send a message via Skype™ to Cornstar
I have sand in both my tanks and I switched from marine land to aquaclear. You can get the prefilter which is same as the fluval pre filter.

I used to have problems with play sand but after switching to pool filter sand, it never goes high enough to go into my impeller.
__________________

__________________
"Life is not about how hard you can hit, but how hard you can get hit and keep going"
Cornstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 05:45 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 381
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cornstar View Post
I have sand in both my tanks and I switched from marine land to aquaclear. You can get the prefilter which is same as the fluval pre filter.

I used to have problems with play sand but after switching to pool filter sand, it never goes high enough to go into my impeller.
Okay thanks, would you happen to have a link to the prefilter or one you reccomend? I might give the aquaclear a try before getting a canister.
__________________
MarkA123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 06:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CleverBs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 2,210
why are you using a filter on a saltwater tank? I to used one on my 25g nano for awhile but found it is just terrible to have because it builds up nasty ness and pollute your tank. its better to just run a skimmer only.
__________________
75G SPS Bare Bottom Reef
4g Nano LPS Reef
40g Fowlr
CleverBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 08:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
Perhaps your Marineland filter intake is too close to the bottom of the sand substrate. If its too close, then the sand will get sucked into the filter.
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 08:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 381
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by CleverBs View Post
why are you using a filter on a saltwater tank? I to used one on my 25g nano for awhile but found it is just terrible to have because it builds up nasty ness and pollute your tank. its better to just run a skimmer only.
In my original post I stated that it was a freshwater tank.
__________________
MarkA123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 08:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 381
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrance View Post
Perhaps your Marineland filter intake is too close to the bottom of the sand substrate. If its too close, then the sand will get sucked into the filter.
It is nowhere near the bottom of the sand substrate, but thanks for your suggestion. I also have a rock under the intake so there is no sand under it as well. Perhaps my cory catfish are blowing the sand into the filter?
__________________
MarkA123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Mark, I went through exactly the same situation you're in now. I had a Penguin on my 29g. It was a great filter until I switched to a sand substrate. I went through two impellers before I gave up and switched to an AquaClear 70. I have sand in all my tanks and ACs filtering all of them with no problems whatsoever.
__________________
ďA man's errors are his portals of discovery.Ē
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Coursair's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Francisco East Bay Area CA
Posts: 7,910
I use a Fluval prefilter , but you can also just cut a piece of Sponge to cover the intake. My friend does that for her large filters. Black sponges blend in well.

I have sand in most of my tanks. No filter issues.
__________________
My 10g Shrimp Jungle My 10g Rimless My 5.5g CRS Tank They are a work in progress
Vid of my Shrimp Jungle
~ Tina
Coursair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:34 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Cornstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York City, USA
Posts: 914
Send a message via AIM to Cornstar Send a message via Skype™ to Cornstar
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkA123 View Post
Okay thanks, would you happen to have a link to the prefilter or one you reccomend? I might give the aquaclear a try before getting a canister.
I use this Amazon.com: Pre-Filter Sponge 3 Pack for Fluval Edge Aquarium: Pet Supplies. They normally cost $2.50 each. They work for all aquaclear filters. I have one on my aquaclear 20 and one for my aquaclear 110.
__________________

__________________
"Life is not about how hard you can hit, but how hard you can get hit and keep going"
Cornstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filter advice, sand, sand substrate, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Baby Fry in the Filter HeatherW Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 10 04-07-2012 06:47 PM
best all-purpose fert and substrate themox Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 28 04-03-2012 06:35 AM
Sand and "Dead Pockets" Tcal01 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 04-01-2012 03:25 PM
Cheap/Effective Lighting for 10 gal Planted?? (So confused...) janky Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 04-01-2012 02:37 PM
Hi, I am looking for a 75gallon build and help with some newbie questions. nagel Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 03-31-2012 11:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.