Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-07-2011, 10:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Filter help

Hello all!!

I come to this site looking for some help and to gain some knowledge. I have been enjoying the hobby of fish tanks for over ten years now. I recently upgraded my tank about a year ago from a 55 gallon south African tank to a 90 gallon African Cichlid tank. When I start the tank all of my fish were no larger then two inches. Now I have over 20 fish ranging from 2" to 5". There has been a lot of breeding going on in my tank so I am unsure exactly how many fish I have now. I also have three placo's two which are about 6" and one that is about 12". I am having trouble with filtration. I am currently running a Rena XP3 canister filter and a Marineland 350 power filter. These two filters do not seem to be doing the job anymore. I always have things floating around in the tank now. The canister filter looked like crap after 10 days after the filter change. PLEASE HELP!!!

Old 02-07-2011, 10:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

I would recommended the Hagen Fluval FX5. It will give you plenty of filtration. I'll link The Fluval FX5 - Complete Aquarium Filtration to 400 Gallons!

I would also use in conjunction of what you have. I'm running the 405 and two marineland 280's.

Old 02-07-2011, 10:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Thanks that is the filter I have thinking about. It is an expensive filter so I just wanted to make sure it was my best option and not going to be over kill
Old 02-07-2011, 10:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by king steve View Post
Thanks that is the filter I have thinking about. It is an expensive filter so I just wanted to make sure it was my best option and not going to be over kill