Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-30-2005, 01:41 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
hmm isnt 2 300's a bit much for a 29?
__________________

__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 02:29 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Thats 600 total gallons per hour in a tank that might have 27 gallons of water in it after the gravel and decorations and such displace some.. thats about 22 cycles per hour.. thats about 344% over necessary filtration and 178% over the maximum filtration needed for fish that need heavy filtration fully stocked and grown.
you could take one off without any concern about the filtration needs of the tank.. one is more than enough for a 29 gallon. they are rated for up to 70 gallon tanks each personally I think it would be more like 60-65 or so..
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 03:58 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 11
My water is PERFECTLY clear ever since I added the second filter and I really want it to stay that way. I mean I can look into the long end of the tank and see no difference from looking in the front. I never had that kind of clarity with one filter. Yes it is certainly overkill, bit the 2nd filter was on sale for 1/2 price when AquaClear went from the 300s to the 70s. As you can see my tank is a little overcrowded and IMO you can't over filter.

29 gallon tank...Two Aquaclear 70 filters (300's)
2- Giant Danios 2- Lemon Tets
2- Opaline Gouramis 1- Zebra Danio
2- Gold Gouramis 1- Scissortail Rasbora
2- Dwarf Gouramis 1- Rainbow Rasbora
2- Schwartz's Corys 3- Otos
__________________
potsieweber33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 07:51 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
http://www.aquabuys.com/page/aqb/PROD/as_prefilter
This should work well....
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 08:57 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
The fish can get stressed with that much extra flow so keep an eye on it..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 09:33 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 11
Diameter is way too small but I get the idea...thanks so much
__________________
Carpe Diem!!!
potsieweber33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 09:36 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 11
Fish seem to love the extra flow and swimming against it...especially Giant Danios & larger Gouramis. All appear healthy, hungry & happy after about a month of having both filters. I will certainly take your advice to keep a watchful eye though...thanks!!!
__________________
Carpe Diem!!!
potsieweber33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 09:39 PM   #18
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I had the same problem with my old HOB and my ADFs. I put pantyhose over the intake and it kept the little guys from getting stuck.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 09:41 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
check and see if there is one that connects directly to a powerhead.. it looks like that one might have an internal rigid tube that attaches to the powerhead..
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
angels & filter intakes crazyred Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-11-2006 12:39 AM
foam over intakes? reefmaster Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-12-2006 09:26 PM
Sponges over intakes...where to get? Alchemy129 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-26-2005 03:46 PM
Powerheads, intakes and anemones Phyl Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-06-2005 02:39 PM
Power Head intakes sparkchaser Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-10-2003 11:17 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.