Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-13-2010, 05:30 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chester-le-Street, UK
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osage_Winter View Post
But I don't understand why the filters aren't doing enough for me -- I am running two fairly powerful HOBs that are supposed to be turning over 800 something gallons per hour, so why isn't this by itself maintaining clear water? I just don't understand this...the AquaClear in it of itself should be a powerful enough filter to keep the water rather clear, no?
Of course filters can only do so much. There is *no* substitute for fresh water, none!
But water clarity is not the same as having no ammonia or nitrite, what was your latest test result saying?

PS, have you measured the flow rate of your filters?
__________________

__________________
135 litre (35 US gallons) 6 Black Widow Tetra; 3 Mollies; 3 Bronze Cory; 1 Pygmy Cory; 6 Gold Barbs
27 litre (7 US gallons) 6 Guppies.
Mark Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 02:35 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 115
Water changes man. I agree is it just your frustration with having a hard time doing the water changes? If so this is what I do.

Use the hose and water pump to suck water out of your tank into the bucket until it's almost full then unplug the water pump and pull the hose out ofthe bucket to keep from it back syphoning. Get rid of how ever much water you need out of your tank. After that I put the fresh water (from the 5gal. Gas jug,notice the F for fresh water) into the bucket. Then I put the water pump into the bucket to pump the fresh water into the tank. You can go to lowes or somewhere similar to get nylon hose and you can get it up to however long you think you need I think mine is close to 3 feet. Any ways I feel it makes changing my water a whole lot easier. Ihope this helps you if your not already trying this method.
__________________

__________________
Sharkbait_Ls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 04:52 PM   #23
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Hewitt View Post
Of course filters can only do so much. There is *no* substitute for fresh water, none!
But water clarity is not the same as having no ammonia or nitrite, what was your latest test result saying?

PS, have you measured the flow rate of your filters?
I just attempted a NIGHTMARE of a water change last night -- I'll get to that in a new thread -- and haven't tested the water again...and no, I haven't measured the flow rate of my filters...how do I do that?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 07:09 PM   #24
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
<--- Is not a Sir to set the facts straight.


And secondly, as much as I hate to do this, I'm washing my hands of this post.
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 07:33 PM   #25
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonFish71 View Post
<--- Is not a Sir to set the facts straight.
Whoops -- my apologies. Honest mistake.

Quote:
And secondly, as much as I hate to do this, I'm washing my hands of this post.
Well, that's your perrogative -- I thank you for your assistance thus far.
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 09:27 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 115
Why is your water changing always a disaster. Is it how you are transferring the water? Never did get a confirmation wether or not you tried my method or not.
__________________
Sharkbait_Ls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 09:38 PM   #27
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkbait_Ls1 View Post
Why is your water changing always a disaster. Is it how you are transferring the water? Never did get a confirmation wether or not you tried my method or not.
We can never get the syphon to start, and when we do, the splashing and turbulence the pumping motion causes creates flooding and all sorts of nightmares around the tank...then, I have to carry a heavy, overflowing bucket MULTIPLE TIMES, which is backbreaking, from the bathroom to the tank (for dumping old water and then replacing with new water), which causes spillage on the carpets on the way over. Now, after this last change, my AquaClear is making a noise it NEVER made before, and I can't correct it -- I'm getting REALLY tired of this; it's like every time I do a water change, something breaks or goes wrong, and it's enough already...now, we have to replace another broken glass top that cracked during this last water change, one of the filters aren't working right and the bubble wands aren't functioning on one side...

I don't think I'm cut out to keep a tank or fish; I have had absolutely NO luck since starting this tank, and the water STILL isn't clear or cycled. Perhaps my case is a good one for the Guiness Book of Records...
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 10:34 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 115
When you say syphon are you using the tubular thing that you use to clean the gravel with? I have a saltwater so I don't know the difference in cleaning the bed/gravel, but I do not try to clean mine. I believe with a freshwater you are/or should clean the bed. The reason I bring this up is bc I use the water pump instead of the syphon tube bc I don't clean my bed. Sounds like this is the reason to all the madness. In no means am I saying to NOT clean your bed.
__________________
Sharkbait_Ls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 10:49 PM   #29
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkbait_Ls1 View Post
When you say syphon are you using the tubular thing that you use to clean the gravel with? I have a saltwater so I don't know the difference in cleaning the bed/gravel, but I do not try to clean mine. I believe with a freshwater you are/or should clean the bed. The reason I bring this up is bc I use the water pump instead of the syphon tube bc I don't clean my bed. Sounds like this is the reason to all the madness. In no means am I saying to NOT clean your bed.
I don't know what you're saying with regard to the statements that follow, but yes, I am using the tubular thing...
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 12:50 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
He's saying that for just changing out the water - not vacuuming the gravel - you can just drop a powerhead with tubing attached to it into the tank and pump the water out. And then use the same setup to pump the water back in. That's what he's showing you in the picture. As I mentioned in another thread, you can slow down the rate the water comes back in by pinching the hose and direct the flow against the side glass... where it won't mess with the ornamental stuff in the tank.

I've never understood why a basic siphon won't work for you. You stick some tubing under the surface of the water. You put the opposite end of the tubing over a bucket, making sure it's below the surface of the water in the tank. Give that end of the tubing a good suck until you see the water come up and over the rim of the tank. Put the end of the tube in the bucket and the water flows. When you want it to stop, pull the tube out of the tank. Nothing to pump, nothing to plug in, nothing to clog up. I do it every week. What am I missing?
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filter media, media

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CC as filter media ThrowedToad DIY Projects 6 12-17-2008 12:46 AM
Changing filter media in HOB filter? SeeDemTails Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 07-13-2006 12:32 AM
Filter Media clownfish4 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 03-07-2006 05:49 AM
Filter media Zagz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-14-2006 01:17 AM
Filter media Dewey Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 09-03-2003 09:53 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.