Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-23-2011, 04:35 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Question filter media help

My friend is moving house & gave me her canister filter, I've never used one before. So I'm looking advice on what media to put in the 3 baskets. She had ceramic noodles in the bottom with floss on top, bio balls next with floss & carbon in the top basket also topped with floss. I have always used internal filters with sponge so I'm not sure what to use. Any other suggestions.

Old 05-23-2011, 05:43 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

You say "had", is it still setup that way? What filter is it (make/model)? I will say, it's a nice gimme .

Sounds fine to me. I'm not a big fan of bioballs or carbon, but there's no reason you can't use it as is. I have a Fluval 305 with 3 trays and I have floss (poly-fil) in the bottom tray as a pre-(fine) filter, middle tray with biomedia (noddles) and top tray spilt with biomedia and floss.

Old 05-23-2011, 05:57 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Limpet
You say "had", is it still setup that way? What filter is it (make/model)? I will say, it's a nice gimme .

Sounds fine to me. I'm not a big fan of bioballs or carbon, but there's no reason you can't use it as is. I have a Fluval 305 with 3 trays and I have floss (poly-fil) in the bottom tray as a pre-(fine) filter, middle tray with biomedia (noddles) and top tray spilt with biomedia and floss.
It hasn't been running for a couple of months now. She gave the tank to her brother, he uses it for cornsnakes so didn't need the filter. It's from allpondsolutions 1000EF. I'll be running it along side the original Juwel filter.
Old 05-23-2011, 06:06 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by dianel64