filter media help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dianel64

Aquarium Advice Regular
My friend is moving house & gave me her canister filter, I've never used one before. So I'm looking advice on what media to put in the 3 baskets. She had ceramic noodles in the bottom with floss on top, bio balls next with floss & carbon in the top basket also topped with floss. I have always used internal filters with sponge so I'm not sure what to use. Any other suggestions.:confused:

You say "had", is it still setup that way? What filter is it (make/model)? I will say, it's a nice gimme :D.

Sounds fine to me. I'm not a big fan of bioballs or carbon, but there's no reason you can't use it as is. I have a Fluval 305 with 3 trays and I have floss (poly-fil) in the bottom tray as a pre-(fine) filter, middle tray with biomedia (noddles) and top tray spilt with biomedia and floss.

Mr. Limpet said:
You say "had", is it still setup that way? What filter is it (make/model)? I will say, it's a nice gimme :D.

Sounds fine to me. I'm not a big fan of bioballs or carbon, but there's no reason you can't use it as is. I have a Fluval 305 with 3 trays and I have floss (poly-fil) in the bottom tray as a pre-(fine) filter, middle tray with biomedia (noddles) and top tray spilt with biomedia and floss.

It hasn't been running for a couple of months now. She gave the tank to her brother, he uses it for cornsnakes so didn't need the filter. It's from allpondsolutions 1000EF. I'll be running it along side the original Juwel filter.

dianel64 said:
It hasn't been running for a couple of months now. She gave the tank to her brother, he uses it for cornsnakes so didn't need the filter. It's from allpondsolutions 1000EF. I'll be running it along side the original Juwel filter.