Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-22-2005, 05:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 310
Filter problem.

I have another 30 gallon i'm gonna set up but i don't know what kindof filter to get. I was gonna get an aquavlear filter but from tthe way the picture looks on the box, i don't know if it will allow me to put the hood on. The picture on the box doesn't have a hood!.
__________________

__________________
Joey17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 09:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Most hoods have a cutout area in the back. Look at your hood and see if that is the case. It will either be preforated plastic, or a white flexible plastic that is easy to cut. Then you just need to make the cutout to match the filter. Aquaclear is a great filter, I used them until I got my big tank.
__________________

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 10:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 310
I bought a fluval underwater filter instead. Is that ok? Should i get a different kind?
__________________
Joey17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 10:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
What do you have planned for this tank? Each filter has it's benifits and downsides. An underwater filter will never leak on the floor! On the other hand, you have to get your hands wet to change the filter. The most crucial thing is that you pick the right size filter for your tank. Most of them have ratings on the package that say what size tank they are for. Overdoing it is better than underdoing it.
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 10:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 310
It says up to 34 gallons and mine is a 30 gallon.
__________________
Joey17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 10:46 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
That should be fine then.

What are you going to do next?
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 10:52 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 310
Wait to see if their is anything else i need to buy.
__________________
Joey17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 10:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
I have fluval 4p in my turtle tank. It does a nice job. What all have you purchased already?
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 11:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
A word of caution on filter guidelines. A filter that says it is good for up to 34gal may not be enough for the bioload you plan on having. You need to read the gph output of the filter and calculate the cycles per hour. At least 5 cycles of tank per hour for a light bioload. 30gal would be 150 gph, if my math is correct.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2005, 12:41 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich311k
I have fluval 4p in my turtle tank. It does a nice job. What all have you purchased already?


Just the filter, and thats it. I have everything else already.
__________________

__________________
Joey17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is filter the problem? babyblue4020 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 3 10-27-2008 09:43 PM
Filter Problem MarkW19 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-22-2007 02:01 PM
filter problem slroo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 12-24-2006 12:47 AM
Filter Problem?? pioneer27 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 10-14-2005 12:45 AM
Problem with my Filter Guam General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-30-2002 08:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.