Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-05-2005, 10:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to r6mason
Filter Question

I have a Eheim Professional 2 (2028) water filter that is for 158 Gallon tanks. I want to know can you have too much filter for a tank?? I want to use it on about a 55 Gallon tank.
__________________

__________________
r6mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 10:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
so its 277gph. No I don't think that's too much for a 55gal. Its only 5x turnover per hour.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 11:04 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to r6mason
are you serious? the only 5X is kind of throwing me off, I dont know if you are being sarcastic?? or if it really okay to use
__________________
r6mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 04:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 478
5x is not considered a lot of flow. On my fw tanks, I generally shoot for 10x and my s/w tanks atleast 15-20x.
__________________
TygGer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 06:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
I shoot for 10x/hour with my HOB filters, but I'm sure you would be fine with 5x turnover considering it is an Eheim canister. I've heard nothing but good things about them.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 07:00 PM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
My fluval 304 is rated at 260 gph and its good for up to 70 gallons, so you should be more than fine with the ehiem.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 07:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 202
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...ad.php?t=17051
Eheim publishes more accurate flow-rate numbers than other manufacturers, which accounts for why folks have to go to 10x flow-rate with other gear to make up for it. Basically, the Eheim number is for a cannister fully loaded with media and a reasonably filled tank, whereas other manufacturers base their number on an empty cannister in an empty tank for marketing reasons.
__________________
2 x Goldfish - $0.09
2 x Ghost Shrimp - $0.60
Look on wife's face when she found out how much I've spent on fish related gear this month - PRICELESS

Heatware 164-0-0
bzbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:57 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
QTOFFER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kew Gardens, NY
Posts: 4,295
I have an Eheim 2026 running on a 58 gal - it produces a nice, not-too-strong current that the fish seem to enjoy. I think the 2028 differs only in that it has an additional media basket. Aside from fancy goldfish and bettas, I can't think of any fish that would get knocked around by the 2028's outflow in a 55 gal. I think it would do a great job.
__________________
QTOFFER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 04:25 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to r6mason
Thanks much for your replies. I put the filter and tank togather today because I have 2 about 1 1/2" tiger oscars and I had them in a 5 1/2 gallon tank and this is my first fishtank and fish. I did not know why they were looking so sick on the third day so I cleaned the small tank and put them back in it the tank yesterday(yesterday I found out about tank cycle). I put the fish in the big tank today and I want to know if the big tank will have to cycle also and if so will it be more harsh or mild on the fish since it is a bigger tank?? I am new to this so please forgive me it i sound like an idiot. is there any way to make this process less deadly?
__________________
r6mason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 04:27 AM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Get some SeaChem Stability for the big tank and use it. Also, stay on top of your Amonia levels with frequent water changes. Get a python if you don't already have one and put it to good use!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter Question CluelessInNY Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 07-12-2008 03:18 PM
Filter Question KiGrind General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 11-01-2006 12:41 AM
I have a filter question please Bosk General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 04-28-2005 08:09 AM
New QT filter question tmcpeek Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 10-12-2004 07:35 PM
Filter Question Kwenbee General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 03-12-2004 12:11 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.