Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-26-2013, 09:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 10
Filter Stopped Working

My Fluval AquaClear 50 Power Filter has stopped working. I just put in some Flourite substrate right before this happened. Is it possible that it has become clogged? If it is how do I remedy the problem? Any help would be appreciated ASAP.

EDIT: I found out a solution, I just stuck a pen in the propeller while it was plugged in and it started up again. Thanks anyways!
__________________

__________________
Quello93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 09:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Jmunroe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 680
Unplug filter. Drain water out of it by taking it off the tank and dumping the water out of it. Grasp black plastic motor at the bottom of filter and turn it(can't remember which way) and pull it out from the filter body. Inside the motor you will see a magnetic impeller on a shaft. Turn the motor upside down and give this a shake out into your hand. Once it's out give the inside of the motor around the shaft a cleaning by rinsing and use a q-tip to loosen any debris if required. Also clean the impeller with a rinse. Put it back together and reinstall on your tank, fill it with water from your tank only and plug it back in. It should reprime it's self after a minute or 2 and work normal.
__________________

__________________
Jmunroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 10:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,800
As jmunroe mentioned, a good cleaning should resolve this. However, I have found that tapping the impeller will often get it going. Not a long term fix but something to do until you can properly clean it.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.