Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2006, 12:27 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Filter too big? (Current too strong?)

Hi AA! Newb alert here... long time lurker, first time poster!

Quick question... what's folks thoughts on a Penguin 200 in a 29 Gal tank?

I set this one up tonight, and it sure does put out a strong current... Its rated for up to 50 Gal, while they have a Penguin 150 rated for up to 30 Gal... should I offload the 200 and pick up a 150? Go with a different filter all together?

TIA for your replies!
__________________

__________________
Darb21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:29 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
The 200 should be fine. Over filtering wont hurt.
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Yeah, the amount of filtration isn't the issue... I guess I'm more worried about the strength of the current. Should have named this thread better...
__________________
Darb21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:52 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
It is not that much current. It is less than a ten time an hour turnover your fish will be fine. Most of them will enjoy it.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 01:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Will give it a go then... Thanks Rich!
__________________
Darb21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 06:07 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hazleton Pennsylvania
Posts: 267
I have an emporor 280 on my 29 gal and it works great it does not seem to over power any of my fish either.
__________________
Clarck that theres an RV.
brant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
yeah i have a 280 in my 29 too.
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 12:35 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 141
Send a message via MSN to SeanMurphy
I've got two aquaclear 50s (the filter formerly known as the aquaclear 200) on my 29gal, just because I had a flare up of some sort of suspended material at one point, and threw my spare on to help pull it out. I liked the resulting clarity from the mechanical filtering, as well as the added surface area for bacteria in the double block filter media so much that I never took it off. The plants wave quite a bit in the current, but the 8 platys (originally 5) seem to be healthy and happy with the movement.
__________________
SeanMurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 01:11 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
Quote:
Originally Posted by brant
I have an emporor 280 on my 29 gal and it works great it does not seem to over power any of my fish either.
I have the Emperor 280 on my 26G and it's absolutely wonderful.
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 09:45 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 863
I have the Penguin 350 on my 29. I really want a 50, so that will work out fine when I get one.
__________________

__________________
lovemybarbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
current, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Current in tank too strong? bluerose Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 09-03-2008 12:51 AM
Too strong of a current? AngelaOlsenFan Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-26-2006 04:31 PM
Strong Current? PsiPro Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 09-03-2005 08:41 PM
Fish that like strong current? Maillis Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 06-07-2004 02:17 PM
how to create (strong) current mikemou Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 05-20-2004 07:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.