Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-14-2009, 07:08 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Filters wont work after cleaning?

Help. Im new to fish keeping and to this forum.

I was given a tank and equipment which was in a bad state. I cleaned up the filters and changed the media in them but now both filters wont work. One is an Interpret PF3 and the other is a smaller filter made by Rena. What could be wrong? The previous owner of the filters has confirmed that we've put them back together correctly.

Also should the spouts where the clean water is ejected from the filter be slightly above water level as we've been getting conflicting advice about this?

Any advice most appreciated.

Thanks

Vicky
__________________

__________________
Vicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 07:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Did you prime the filters 1st?
__________________

__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 08:13 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 5
No, i just stuck them back on the glass and switched them on. The previous owners did exactly the same. How do i prime them?
__________________
Vicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 08:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Fill the filter with water first then plug them in.
__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 08:47 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Both filters have been left submerged in tank overnight and then switched on in morning but still not working. Is this sufficient to fill them with water?
__________________
Vicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 09:05 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sadielynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,835
No you will need to take a pitcher of H20 place it into the filter box , then plug it in .. If that doesnt work pull the intake tube out and see if you have movement of the impeller , if you dont you can try to remove the impeller (after unplugging) plug it in and drop the impeller to see if you can reseat it , if none of that works new filters would likely be needed ..
__________________
Sadielynn
Nanoreefing site
2 nanos
10 gallon ~6.5 gallon custom
Sadielynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 09:07 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
My Bad, I didn't realize they were in tank filters. Did you take it apart and clean the impeller? Also, is the impeller able to spin freely by hand (It may be jammed).
__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 10:22 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Neither of the impellers move freely by hand. The smaller Rena pump - impeller slightly stiff but turns 360. The Interpret PF3 - impeller really stiff only slight range of movement. How can i fix this?
__________________
Vicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 11:51 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
The impeller is a magnet, and is a bit "stuck" to the motor magnet so might not turn freely. Simplest way to see if it is running is to submerge the filter (disassemble enough so the impeller is visible) and plug it in briefly to see if the impeller turns. <This will make quite a splash - so do it in the tub or something.>

If the impeller is not turning, you will need to pull it & clean it. There is usually a little cover/retaining ring over the impeller. Once you remove that <the blades of the impeller will then be completely free>, you can pull straight up & out. The magnet will exert a bit of force so you will need to pull, but you should not have to force anything.

Check that there is no sand or other deposits in the impeller housing/ magnet. With hard water, there is often a film of hard water scale. You'll need to soak that off with vinegar (or CLR lime remover if it is really bad.) Clean & reassemble. It is recommended that you clean the impeller monthly in areas with hard water to prevent it seizing.

With the impeller out, check that it is not broken. <The magnet should engage the blades with 1/4 turn.> You'll need a new one if it is. <Happened to me this WE with my pump! >
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 12:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
as far as your other question...

what conflicts have you been getting? you want to have some motion on the surface of the water. The only submersible filter I had had a spray bar. I left it just below the surface and it caused a good amount of surface movement.

what reason would someone give to have the output totally under the surface?
__________________

__________________
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clean, cleaning, filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do undergravel filters work? hbeth82 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 17 11-24-2009 04:53 PM
Profile Picture Wont Work GGRRRR! FishmanJosh Forum Admin & Announcements 2 10-10-2009 12:53 PM
why wont my overflows work!!!!!! foma2000 DIY Projects 8 02-26-2005 12:06 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.