Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-13-2015, 04:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
tmartin722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 184
Filtration

I'm thinking about making a coffee table aquarium out of a 55 gallon. I'm wanting to keep as simple as possible. It will be lightly stocked with only a pair of clowns and inverts. Would just live rock and sand be enough filtration? Trying to keep from having cords running from it.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
tmartin722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 11:23 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Reefing Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 577
That filtration would be enough. But the gas exchange would be poor, probably end up with PH issues.
__________________

__________________
Reefing Madness Tank Pics
Reefing Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 12:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefing Madness View Post
That filtration would be enough. But the gas exchange would be poor, probably end up with PH issues.
I'm going to agree. A coffee table tank really has to be a custom job. There's not really going to be any way to get around cords running from it, you're going to need heating and plenty of water movement.

It would be best to make a custom tank that's much shorter (probably no more than 1" tall) raise it off the ground with a base, and put a sump in the base to account for proper water movement.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 06:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
tmartin722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 184
Ok thanks. I had a feeling the gas exchange would be a problem.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
tmartin722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filtration issues, or lack-there-of filtration... penelope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 03-02-2008 08:22 PM
filtration question mdl91881 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 11-23-2002 09:04 PM
Question, biological filtration in Brackish Aquarium John Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 09-22-2002 01:49 PM
Bio Filtration Question spewns Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 08-19-2002 10:34 PM
Berlin Method of Reef Filtration reefrunner69 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 05-20-2002 09:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.