Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 08-21-2005, 12:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 376
Filtration Adequate Or Not.

Hey guys,

If you've seen any of my posts you know I have a 55 gallon that has been up about a month. I've got some hair-like algea that is brown growing on the walls of my tank and sand.

Currently the tank holds the following:
3 snails
2 crabs
2 cleaner shrimp
1 chocolate chip starfish
2 damsels

All my test come out okay but I'm curious about water flow/filtration.

30 lbs base rock (just added)
30 lbs live rock - in the tank about a month.
20 lbs live sand
30 lbs argonite (dead) sand

Seaclone 100 (modded) - picked up some red stuff.. looks like blood. I was working on the tank a while back and I think I cut myself in the tank.

Also a penguin 330 - with biowheels that will be removed soon to keep nitrates down some.

Also I have a 20 dollar powerhead - the only one walmart carries... 200 gph? not sure.

My question is would it be reasonable for me to ditch the penguin 330 and rely on the live rock/sand and skimmer for filtration. If so when would this be? Is my current rock adequate?

How many power heads do I need?

Thanks for your time.

I plan to add a couple clowns in the future but I will have to remove atleast one damsel because it is super aggressive towards the other.

noteworthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2005, 04:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Salttanker's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
I'm not sure if you really need a biowheel since you have lr in there already. I would buy more lr when you can. As far as filtration is concerned, the skimmer won't be a part of the filtration. Since it is a 55 gal, you will want at least 550 gph in there. Most people here just get 2-3 Mj 1200's and that does the trick for filtration. HTH


Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2005, 06:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 376
Yeah I am going to remove the biowheels. I'm just curious how long it will take to seed the base rock and if it would be acceptable to totally remove the penguin hob filter.

The 10x rule I've heard quite a bit so if I had 10-15x of movement from powerheads and 1-1.5 lbs rock for every gallon I would be set?
noteworthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2005, 06:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
You say all tests come out ok??? If you have hair algae you have some type of excess nutrients... how about some numbers on Nitrate and phosphates..
Did you cycle the tank? If so what did you use... Why no fish yet if all the nember are ok?
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2005, 09:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 376
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 15
pH - 8.2
Salinity is 1.021

Tank has been up for a month. I cycled fishless with raw shrimp. I have two damsels now. Decided to add a cleanup crew of some sort to help combat the algae breakout. I believe what you would call it is a type of 'diatom' breakout from a fresh tank that has just cycled.

I probably need to do a water change. Numbers are looking okay and my skimmer is pulling some brownish stuff out. Still working on setting it perfect. It has a bit too much liquid in the output.
noteworthy is offline   Reply With Quote


Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this an adequate light? SWerner13 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 8 01-26-2009 10:40 PM
Is my lighting adequate? jbowles General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-12-2008 06:01 PM
Adequate lighting? evercl92 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 09-13-2007 12:35 PM
So where do you get adequate lighting? TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 17 03-31-2005 11:57 AM
What is adequate space between corals? maiceman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-23-2003 05:06 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.