Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-13-2012, 02:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bowhunterking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 166
Filtration for multiple tanks

I plan on opening a pet store with a fish warehouse. i was wondering what people think would be the best filtration for all the tanks, for both the freshwater and saltwater sections. Thank You for any help
__________________

__________________
Bowhunterking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:10 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JesseMessykinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wells Tannery, PA
Posts: 409
Good Idea, I was thinking the same thing Im gonna open a pet store within the next 5 years I hope. I got to thinking, you shouldnt run all the tanks on one sump. What is you have a outbreak, Bam all you tanks with catch it. Depending on how your set up is, maybe 1 sump per a rack?
__________________

__________________
Dont be Wasteful is what I was always told, Got a dead fish? Get the Frying Pan Baby!
JesseMessykinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 06:09 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
lamby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 503
I talked to my lfs theu said they for each shelf and each row the have their own sumps I asked how many sumps they have all up he said 20 500ltr sumps all up but he breeds shrimp and fish in them also
__________________
lamby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bowhunterking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 166
Thank you for the advice. I was thinking of doing sumps, my main problem with that is the spread of disease, i geus thats why you limit the number of tanks on a sump
__________________
Bowhunterking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 03:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bowhunterking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 166
Is it best to drill the tanks, for the sump or is there other altnatives, and Can anyone give me pics of there sump set up.. I am not familure with sumps, and have never used them befor.

Thank you
__________________
Bowhunterking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 03:53 PM   #6
Lt.
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lt.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wasilla AK
Posts: 808
My LFS runs undergravel on all their tanks. Just throwin that out there for you.
__________________
Whenever I watch the News, no matter what network it is, i'm like:
Lt. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 05:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
You should investigate your lfs. Ask them the questions and they might show you. You might understand a lot more after seeing a few different setups. I am not sure how willing they would be if they know that you will be their competitor.
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 05:14 PM   #8
Lt.
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lt.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wasilla AK
Posts: 808
Maybe go to a LFS in a neighboring town, or atleast one thats not really close by you.
__________________
Whenever I watch the News, no matter what network it is, i'm like:
Lt. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
foster53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,626
I can recommend sponge filters. A single blower with pvc piped through your display tanks would work fine. This way every tank is individual. Thats what I use in my fish room, and also used in my LFS years ago.
__________________
foster53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:54 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bowhunterking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 166
The only pet store around me is pet co :/ so that won't get me far. I was thinking sponge filters but would wouldn't increase the amount of tank maintenance I would need to do (water changes, etc), not that I am not willing to do it, but I'll have grooming, and tons of other animal to take care of, and at least around 300-400 tanks (4000 gal of h2o). And I read some were that sponge filters won't work with salt water is this true.
__________________

__________________
Bowhunterking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration, multiple tanks, tan, tanks

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.