Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-24-2012, 02:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
I feel like my tank doesn't have enough filtration, but my dad does. Here's the info:
*55 gal- discus, angels, kuhli loaches, rope fish, black skirt and bleeding heart tetras. (yes, my tank is very fully stocked, we're saving money for another tank so don't bring that up because I know lol)
*1 fluval 205 (it says its for up to 40 gallons but I've heard that they don't filter well enough)
*1 aquatech 10-20 gal filter.

So that would add up to 60 gallons total and I don't think that's enough for my 55 especially since its so fully stocked. Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 03:01 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
didysis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Utah, West Jordan
Posts: 247
Cheap and easy just upgrade to the aqua tech power filter from Walmart get the 30-60 gallon one. When I had my 55 that's what I had and it worked very well. Filter cartridges are cheap also. Cheap and easy way to do it.
__________________

__________________
125 Gallon Cichlid tank
NEW PEACOCK BASS !!!!
didysis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 03:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
Yea I like the maintenance for the aquatech.
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 03:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mounds View, MN
Posts: 921
order an aqua clear HOB. off of Amazon. com. they work good, run along side of your other filters.

I suggest aqua clear 110 for your tank ..

when getting a filter do not look at what size tank its rated for.. look at the gallons per hour
__________________
rreekers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 04:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 760
You could fill your filter with bio media like matrix or plastic potscrubbers.
__________________
Jmedic25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
Well my fluval does 180 gph but I'm not sure about the other
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:42 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
And I'm keeping the fluval no matter what, I want to replace the aquatech if anything. If I had more money I'd buy another fluval but I can't afford it.
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
A good option would just get an aquaclear 70 for 30 bucks on amazon you can't beat that.
__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:47 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
Eh it would be easier for me to get it at the lfs. But ill go look at filters soon.
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 10:59 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sharkbait54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashville,Tn
Posts: 1,415
I say amazon cause they are 70 at the lfs near me.
__________________

__________________
Sharkbait54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie question on filtration and other stuff Bosco72 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 154 03-17-2012 11:11 AM
oxygen and filtration question Leftysav Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 12-03-2011 09:59 AM
BioCube Filtration Question jamesd28 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 44 08-17-2011 12:44 PM
Filtration Question: Please Help ! KimeeBee Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-01-2011 11:22 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.