Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-30-2017, 07:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
The boring name's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: charlotte NC
Posts: 809
Finnex 24/7

Hello! I bought a used aquarium today that came with this light. It is not responding got he remote. The remote is throwing off a signal but the light is not picking it up. Any suggestions On how to fix?
__________________

__________________
The boring name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 07:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,259
First thing I would try is a fresh battery (I know you mentioned it is sending a signal). Recently had the same issue.
If a new battery does not work, you might be out of luck. Mine had a faulty IR receiver; was sketchy from the get go; no very responsive. Since it was still under warranty the repair was free (shipped off to the company for a week or two). Not sure how they would handle it out of warranty (assuming it is). You could try contacting Finnex and see if they can do anything for you.
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 08:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,560
I have one of my three that has gone bad.
It won't work with any of the other 2 remotes or power sources.
I like the light as a supplement on the 24/7 mode to stronger lighting used on a timer. But not if they don't last longer then 2 years.
Still on the fence with my other two .I hope they last...
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
http://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 12:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
The boring name's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: charlotte NC
Posts: 809
Fresh2o you were right on the money a fresh battery solved the issue. Next question if you can help. This light is setup on a 20 gal long, I'm gonna crack open my old pressurized c02 system again to put on the tank. I'm planning on having some swords and water wasteria. Would this light be good enough for these plants?
__________________
The boring name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 04:55 PM   #5
Grand Poobah of Fish Poo
 
Barliman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Los Angeles, 3rd door on the left
Posts: 1,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by The boring name View Post
Fresh2o you were right on the money a fresh battery solved the issue. Next question if you can help. This light is setup on a 20 gal long, I'm gonna crack open my old pressurized c02 system again to put on the tank. I'm planning on having some swords and water wasteria. Would this light be good enough for these plants?
It's easily enough light for those plants. I have an older Planted Plus (not the 24/7 model), and my plants in a 20-long go nuts. You'll want to limit the hours you run your lights, though, to limit algae. Maybe just six hours at the start, and then ramp up from there. I think you're find the water wisteria will grow like a weed, especially with CO2.
__________________
----
Now open: "JJ&J's Seafood Buffet" 20g long planted freshwater.
Barliman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 06:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,742
The first one I got had the same issue. Luckily it was an Amazon exchange.
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 07:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,259
For those plants I would either dim the lighting or reduce the photoperiod (as mentioned above). More than enough light from that fixture on that tank depth.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 01:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
The boring name's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: charlotte NC
Posts: 809
Awesome thanks. If i run this light pressurized co2 and dose flourish and have the osmocote plus tabs do you think the plants will thrive/grow well? Anyt hing I'm missing?
__________________
The boring name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 07:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,259
Iím assuming you mean Seachem Flourish Comprehensive? Plants should thrive. The only other thing you might consider is adding API Leaf Zone. It supplies some nutrients that the Comprehensive does not.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 07:30 PM   #10
ZxC
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: London, ON
Posts: 609
I"ll be the odd one out here and say go full bore with the light.... I love growing "easy" or "low light" plants under high light, CO2 and lots of ferts... Once you find a balance between these, algae shouldn't be too much of an issue, and you'll almost be able to watch that sword push out a new leaf in real time

But.... I would do what the others stated, start out slow and slowly ramp it up, or else you will likely end up with an algae farm.
__________________

__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fin

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is better for 55 gallon finnex Ray 2 or finnex planted plus? Guppy4life Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 04-28-2017 02:05 PM
Finnex ray2 or finnex planted plus??? kmny34 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-30-2014 06:34 AM
Finnex planted+ vs finnex ray2 New_b0401 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 21 08-07-2014 09:04 PM
Finnex fugeray planted+ vs Finnex ray ll elephantnose Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 07-11-2014 10:34 PM
FINNEX PROTEIN SKIMMER JoeA Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 0 09-21-2004 09:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.