Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-21-2015, 09:35 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SnowRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: North Shore of Boston
Posts: 130
I also keep a mineral rock in there for trace elements. It's prob a square inch in size.
__________________

__________________
SnowRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 09:39 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SnowRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: North Shore of Boston
Posts: 130
I figure that the sponge filter holds a bunch of TDS and the filter as well.
I'm looking it up now on google since you've illuminated me on that I didn't know about.
__________________

__________________
SnowRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 11:02 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SnowRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: North Shore of Boston
Posts: 130
Finnex Planted+

So I bought a TDS meter.Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1443276083.335591.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	168.3 KB
ID:	278521

It says 108 x10 ppm

Is that bad? The Ph is 8.0
__________________
SnowRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 11:24 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
If it's 108 that's pretty ok, if it 1008 that's basically watered down cement..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 12:20 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
SnowRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: North Shore of Boston
Posts: 130
Finnex Planted+

Well the meter directions say to multiply by 10 if it's flashing the 10x symbol.
I put the meter in some filtered water from my work and it read 007 so I'm assume it's working correctly.
My mollies like the water hard and they seem to be doing ok. I do load up my filter with crushed Atlantic coral though.
__________________

__________________
SnowRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fin, plant, planted

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finnex ray2 or finnex planted plus??? kmny34 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-30-2014 07:34 AM
Finnex planted+ vs finnex ray2 New_b0401 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 21 08-07-2014 10:04 PM
Finnex fugeray planted+ vs Finnex ray ll elephantnose Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 07-11-2014 11:34 PM
Finnex Fugeray Planted+ Pezzep Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 23 11-19-2013 11:53 PM
Finnex ray planted+ Niccobacci11 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 11-02-2013 02:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.