First time use of Internal Overflow:

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mwdeck1983

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all,

I am not new to the world of aquatics, but I am new to the concept of using an overflow/sump filtration system.

I recently upgraded to a 56 gallon, corner, bow front glass aquarium, with a built-in, internal, corner overflow with pre-drilled holes and plumbing for the standpipe and return fed through the bottom of the tank, inside the overflow. I can take detailed pictures if it helps clarify.

My question, we'll two parts; a) where can I find some good education on sump/ wet-dry filtration, and b) can I use my existing canister filter by incorporating it into the existing plumbing? What modifications will I need to make? It is a freshwater setup and for a living room. I don't have anything too complicated in this tank. I'd love to be able to hook my canister up to it and call it a day. The guy at the aquarium shop where I purchased it said it was possible.

From the forums I've read, people have mixed opinions about it. Although I have yet to find a forum that discusses my EXACT setup.

Hoping anyone can provide some clarity or direct me where to go. As I said, I am new to this realm and would love to become educated about it.

Thank you!

First of, welcome to AA!
Secondly, it should work provided the flow rate from the overflow matches the suction or intake of the canister filter. If it does not (for instance if the water level drops), then there is a chance that the canister will suck in air. Perhaps if you could provide pics and more details that might help.
You could always add a sump to your setup and use the canister as a return pump to the DT (display tank). Not only do they add volume to your system, they offer a place to add filtration and hide equipment.