Fish and equipment suggestions for a 30 gal.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Logan

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to fishkeeping. I have a empty 30 gal. tank 36x12x16. I ordered a stand today from my lfs. I was wondering what fish and equipment to buy for it. I also have to learn about cycling before getting any fish.

For fish I was thinking of maybe danios, glolight or lemon tetras, harlequin rasboras, corycats. I also don't know how much I would be able to put in my tank. I'm open to suggestions of other good fish for a beginner.

For the filter I was thinking of maybe an emperor or aquaclear but I don't know which size to get.

I don't know how many watts the heater should be or a good brand.

Welcome to AA! There is a thread on tank capacity posted today you might be interested in; basically the "one gallon per inch of adult fish" rule is a good starting point for beginners. The fish you've mentioned are all great choices, especially since they're schooling community fish. My danios are a little aggressive but very hardy fish. You could look into loaches as well; they seem to be pretty easy to take care of (I have four) and are very fun to watch. I really like my Penguin Biowheel filter but I'm not really an expert in that area so maybe someone else will help you there. A heater is simple to buy because if you read the heater packages they tell you what size tanks they are made for; brandwise I just bought mid-range priced heaters from the lfs.

I would HIGHLY recommend a Millenium 2000 filter for your new tank. I own six Milleniums and they're BY FAR the best HOB filter I've ever used (and I've used them all). Aqua Clears are also great filters but I can't remember what "size" is rated for 30 gallons (although it should be listed on the box).