Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-30-2014, 01:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 5,959
Fish room air pump

I need suggestions for a reliable air pump to run about 100 outlets, average depth 12"- 18" I currently have a blower capable for this but want a reliable backup. Linear pumps maybe? Please tell me what you are using and detail your use. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 11:05 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 5
Fish room air pump

Wow, 100. God bless you. What size is that tank? Sounds like you'll need a big'n. Ok, multiple tanks, I understand.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Rayscopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 09:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 5,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayscopes View Post
Wow, 100. God bless you. What size is that tank? Sounds like you'll need a big'n. Ok, multiple tanks, I understand.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
LOL, it's for multiple tanks in a hatchery. I'm done (I think) with really large tanks for now. Too expensive these days
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 12:44 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near Chicago, IN
Posts: 4,856
We need pics of these fish rooms/hatcheries Mr Andy! I'm so curious what a big set up looks like.
__________________

Brenna
brennae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 12:59 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 5,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by brennae View Post
We need pics of these fish rooms/hatcheries Mr Andy! I'm so curious what a big set up looks like.
In good time. lol Right now, I only have the concrete floor poured. The building comes in 2 weeks then I get to have some fun setting it up. Already have most of the parts ordered and being delivered.
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 01:01 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
I have not used a linear pump that large Andy but I had a Jehmco LPH60 powering about 20 tanks. It was way too much air for that.

The linear pumps are nice and quiet though.
__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 01:01 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near Chicago, IN
Posts: 4,856
That's so awesome. I hope to have an actual fishroom one day. How big is the building? Is it metal like a pole barn?
__________________

Brenna
brennae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 01:07 AM   #8
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
The Alita AL series is a good choice. I had the AL-60 for a few years that ran great till I got rid of it. Totally silent. Just be sure to order a repair kit just in case. Pretty low power use. From what I understand the number designation is a general idea of how many outlets it'll run conservatively, but I'm willing to bet it's capable of quite a bit more, especially on small tank sponge filters that aren't using a ton of air.

Alita Linear Air Pumps
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 01:33 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 5,959
Thanks Jet & Dalto. Depending on what tanks I use, I may have upped my needs to about 125 outlets now. Thankfully the blower I have now ran my old hatchery which was about 400 outlets. But it's old and hasn't been used in a number of years so I want to be prepared for it's demise. I'll check out the Alita line.

Thanks again
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 01:37 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 5,959
Anyone use the EcoPlus Commercial air pumps?
__________________

__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, air pump, fish, pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I trade in my 'up to fourth gallon air pump' for a 20 gallon air pump for my 2 courtney1626 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 03-01-2014 02:20 AM
air pump or no air pump? rpgmomma8404 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-16-2013 01:24 AM
air pump split into 3 air lines: loss of air pressure? gabysapha General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 09-27-2011 09:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.