Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-08-2004, 10:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 1,424
Send a message via AIM to Psyhampster Send a message via Yahoo to Psyhampster
Floating Filter

I'm doing a filter change and am floating the new cartridge. Is it ok if i just put it in the tank? Right now It's under the filter intake, but will bacteria grow on it there?
__________________

__________________
Ryan

http://www.aquarank.com/images/users/1.gif Vote For Us!

20 gal FW
----------
2 Flame Blue Platies, 2 Micky Mouse Platies, 2 Flame Gold Platies, 1 German Blue Ram, 2 Yo-Yo Loaches

30 gal FW
--------

1 Marble Hatchet, 5 Silver Hatchets, 6 Zebra Danios, 2 Dwarf Gouramis, 2 Fancy Guppies, 1 Yo-Yo Loach
Psyhampster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 11:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Corona Ca.
Posts: 515
Are you changing to a different filter unit? If so, I would install it on the tank along with your old one and run both for several weeks. If you are just changing the filter insert, rinse the old one lightly in declored water and float it, install the new filter.
__________________

__________________
Doran Hayes
BASSNMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 11:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 1,424
Send a message via AIM to Psyhampster Send a message via Yahoo to Psyhampster
shouldn't I let the new one be in the tank to gather good bacteria?
__________________
Ryan

http://www.aquarank.com/images/users/1.gif Vote For Us!

20 gal FW
----------
2 Flame Blue Platies, 2 Micky Mouse Platies, 2 Flame Gold Platies, 1 German Blue Ram, 2 Yo-Yo Loaches

30 gal FW
--------

1 Marble Hatchet, 5 Silver Hatchets, 6 Zebra Danios, 2 Dwarf Gouramis, 2 Fancy Guppies, 1 Yo-Yo Loach
Psyhampster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 12:12 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 97
Whether the filter media is in the tank or in the filter, it will gather bacteria. Just make sure not to remove the old one for a couple weeks until the new one is established.
__________________
Aquafriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 05:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 1,424
Send a message via AIM to Psyhampster Send a message via Yahoo to Psyhampster
The main reason I'm changing it is to cycle my 30 gal quickly. If I let it float for say, 2 days, will there be enough bacteria on it to either use it in the 20 gal, or to lower the cycle time in the 30?
__________________
Ryan

http://www.aquarank.com/images/users/1.gif Vote For Us!

20 gal FW
----------
2 Flame Blue Platies, 2 Micky Mouse Platies, 2 Flame Gold Platies, 1 German Blue Ram, 2 Yo-Yo Loaches

30 gal FW
--------

1 Marble Hatchet, 5 Silver Hatchets, 6 Zebra Danios, 2 Dwarf Gouramis, 2 Fancy Guppies, 1 Yo-Yo Loach
Psyhampster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 05:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Palm Bay Fl
Posts: 4,076
Send a message via Yahoo to oscarbreeder
Not in only two days.
__________________
Please remember to vote for Aquarium Advice!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v328/kyman_33/sig.jpg
oscarbreeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 05:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 1,424
Send a message via AIM to Psyhampster Send a message via Yahoo to Psyhampster
Ok then, about how long would you say to float it for before use in the 30 if the 30 will have live plants?
__________________
Ryan

http://www.aquarank.com/images/users/1.gif Vote For Us!

20 gal FW
----------
2 Flame Blue Platies, 2 Micky Mouse Platies, 2 Flame Gold Platies, 1 German Blue Ram, 2 Yo-Yo Loaches

30 gal FW
--------

1 Marble Hatchet, 5 Silver Hatchets, 6 Zebra Danios, 2 Dwarf Gouramis, 2 Fancy Guppies, 1 Yo-Yo Loach
Psyhampster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 05:28 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 194
Just take the old filter insert and put it in your filter on the new tank...instant cycle. The old filter will have enough bacteria on the sides to keep your tank running. It will be just like doing a regular filter change
__________________
spence0416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 05:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 1,424
Send a message via AIM to Psyhampster Send a message via Yahoo to Psyhampster
but shouldnt I let the bacteria grow on the new cartridge first?
__________________
Ryan

http://www.aquarank.com/images/users/1.gif Vote For Us!

20 gal FW
----------
2 Flame Blue Platies, 2 Micky Mouse Platies, 2 Flame Gold Platies, 1 German Blue Ram, 2 Yo-Yo Loaches

30 gal FW
--------

1 Marble Hatchet, 5 Silver Hatchets, 6 Zebra Danios, 2 Dwarf Gouramis, 2 Fancy Guppies, 1 Yo-Yo Loach
Psyhampster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 05:32 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 194
I never do when I change my filter media. I've never had any spikes in my levels either.
__________________

__________________
spence0416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, floating

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keeping floating plants out of filter Drayven Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 09-07-2009 08:05 PM
Riccia, floating? fish_4_all Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 08-07-2006 06:44 PM
Floating moore tmkx3 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 01-03-2006 06:35 PM
y are they floating?? blue_neon Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 04-17-2005 10:04 PM
Penguin 360 Filter/ Floating stuff mandi0321 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 08-05-2004 03:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.