Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-07-2004, 05:23 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 204
flow meters?

has anyone ever used a flow meter to get an accurate reading of the return output? if so, what flow meter did you use and where did you get it?
__________________

__________________
SW - 75 gal
Amiracle SL-350 Wet/Dry (no bio-balls)
AquaC EV-180 Skimmer w/Mag 7
2ea Maxi-Jet 1200 & 2ea Maxi-Jet 900 PH
Captive Purity Refractometer w/Calibrator
LCD Digital 250 W Titanium Heater
48in Coralife 4x65 watt PC
Won Pro Heat II
Tunz level alarm
Approx. 200lbs Sand (3-4" DSB)
RO/DI unit - 110 GPD

Please feel free to advise me!
guitarded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 07:22 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
I think most folks just ballpark the figures based on the info provided by the pump manufacturer. Every pump I've bought has a flow v. head height chart. Close enough for me anyway.
__________________

__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 12:47 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 204
i have a pretty good ball park figure. however, i had to close down my ball valve to tweak the noise on my overflow (yes, i already installed a standpipe). so i would like to check on the actual flow that i am getting.
__________________
SW - 75 gal
Amiracle SL-350 Wet/Dry (no bio-balls)
AquaC EV-180 Skimmer w/Mag 7
2ea Maxi-Jet 1200 & 2ea Maxi-Jet 900 PH
Captive Purity Refractometer w/Calibrator
LCD Digital 250 W Titanium Heater
48in Coralife 4x65 watt PC
Won Pro Heat II
Tunz level alarm
Approx. 200lbs Sand (3-4" DSB)
RO/DI unit - 110 GPD

Please feel free to advise me!
guitarded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 02:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
One of my overflows were making *terrible* noise. When I realized it was only one of them I looked at the two to see if I could figure out what was different enough to cause the noise difference. What I found was that the quiet overflow was closer to where it dropped into the sump and the other one was further away. Since the further one had a straight run at the wet/dry it was running faster than the other one. The closer (quiet) overflow hose had been curled around to get back to the inlet so it had a circle in the hose (going up into the air), and then into the inlet to the wet/dry. When I put a U into the (noisey) hose that had the straight run to the wet dry it quieted right down. Seemed that little bit of bend in the hose was enough to slow down the return enough so that it was always full of water, thereby eliminating the noise of the waterfall into the overflow. It has made us all very happy!

I had originally had a mag9 in there but the noise was really bad. Put in a mag 12 and it wasn't quite so bad but still noisey. That's when I checked the hoses. Seemed in my case that faster flow into the tank and slower flow out was what fixed my noise problem.
__________________
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 02:51 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 204
i have a pretty straight shot to my sump. actually, after i made and installed a stockman standpipe, the gurgling and slurping noise stopped. however, in my outer outflow box, i am getting waterfall noise as the water goes over the baffle that separates the siphon tube chamber from the drain chamber. i was able to reduce the noise by cranking down on the ball valve of my return line. so therefore, i was curious as to my actual flow. (btw, i also adjusted the hole size on the top of the stockman).

right now, noise is not the problem. i just want to make sure that i still have enough flow. i know what the flow should be at the calculated head height when the ball valve is fully open.

k, that said... has anyone ever used a flow meter to get an accurate reading of the return output? if so, what flow meter did you use and where did you get it?
__________________
SW - 75 gal
Amiracle SL-350 Wet/Dry (no bio-balls)
AquaC EV-180 Skimmer w/Mag 7
2ea Maxi-Jet 1200 & 2ea Maxi-Jet 900 PH
Captive Purity Refractometer w/Calibrator
LCD Digital 250 W Titanium Heater
48in Coralife 4x65 watt PC
Won Pro Heat II
Tunz level alarm
Approx. 200lbs Sand (3-4" DSB)
RO/DI unit - 110 GPD

Please feel free to advise me!
guitarded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 05:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
Place a 5 gallon bucket at your normal head height and time how long it takes to fill. AFter that do the math and you'll have your answer without having to buy anything else.
__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 05:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 204
yeah, i was afraid i was going to have to do that. however, i will probably place the bucket at the end of my drain tube and time it. that way i don't have to raise the bucket so high.
__________________

__________________
SW - 75 gal
Amiracle SL-350 Wet/Dry (no bio-balls)
AquaC EV-180 Skimmer w/Mag 7
2ea Maxi-Jet 1200 & 2ea Maxi-Jet 900 PH
Captive Purity Refractometer w/Calibrator
LCD Digital 250 W Titanium Heater
48in Coralife 4x65 watt PC
Won Pro Heat II
Tunz level alarm
Approx. 200lbs Sand (3-4" DSB)
RO/DI unit - 110 GPD

Please feel free to advise me!
guitarded is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, meters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital nitrite/nitrate meters? Ferret_Friend General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-26-2006 03:26 PM
Question about pH Meters leafyseadragon General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 07-26-2005 09:42 PM
Any have success with pH meters such as Hanna brand? runway1 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 03-23-2005 12:43 PM
cheap tds meters mhedrick Archive 2 01-05-2005 01:09 PM
Hanna PH meters fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-19-2004 11:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.