Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-27-2003, 06:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gloucester, England
Posts: 19
Fluval 204 Problem

All,

Thanks in advance for looking at this post.

I have a Fluval 204 canister filter on my 120 litre tropical freshwater
tank. I've had it for about a year, and it has been working fine. Over the
last month I have noticed it 'running' slower than normal. Where before
water would gush out of the pipe coming back in to the tank, it is now a lot
slower. Since I first notice this I have cleaned the pipe coming to and from
the filter in case they were getting blocked (breathing through the pipe
does not indicate any blockages), have cleaned the impela (spelling?) and am
generally happy that water should be able to flow through the filter without
being blocked at any stage. I see no reason for the impela to be spinning
any slower than normal, and cannot see any damage to any part of the filter.
I have run the filter while open to make sure the impela is spinning
unrestricted, which it seems to be.

I am prepared to spend some money to get the filter back up to speed, but I
am at a loss as to what the problem could be. Any advice would be
appreciated.

Michael
__________________

__________________
jbrown03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 07:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
you mention cleaning the pipes... have you changed the filter/cleaned the filter media tho?
__________________

__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 09:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Neuve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mexico
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to Neuve Send a message via MSN to Neuve Send a message via Yahoo to Neuve
did you clean the little hole where you put the impela in? For AC i read on the manual that it was recommended to clean once a month... (Now that i remember, its time to clean one of my foam inserts lol)

I dont have any experience with FLUVALs except having cleaning the syphon of the tank @ my school...

FWIW
__________________
Neuve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 11:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
hmm, like already mentioned, clean the impeller housing and it's "hole", as well as the pathways for water in and out of the motor housing.

clean or replace your prefilter sponges

clean the Aquastop valves, you will need to drain the hoses to do this. remove the aquastop and the hoses from the tank, and then open the valve over a sink / bucket to drain the hoses. now remove the valve from the hoses and run a brush through the intake and outlet, rinse the valve and then give it a scrub again.

Hope this helps and,

Welcome to Aquarium Advice
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2003, 03:52 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gloucester, England
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by William
you mention cleaning the pipes... have you changed the filter/cleaned the filter media tho?
I have indeed, and do regularly. I believe that everything in the filter is clean. After reading some of these posts I have a few new angles of attack, so I will try those. If I get no where you guys may be hearing from me again.

Thanks for the reply .
__________________
jbrown03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2003, 04:45 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gloucester, England
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuve
did you clean the little hole where you put the impela in? For AC i read on the manual that it was recommended to clean once a month... (Now that i remember, its time to clean one of my foam inserts lol)
Yes the 'ole is clean. In fact I have cleaned everything in the filter.
__________________
jbrown03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2003, 04:52 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gloucester, England
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by justDIY
hmm, like already mentioned, clean the impeller housing and it's "hole", as well as the pathways for water in and out of the motor housing.
Have done...

Quote:
Originally Posted by justDIY
clean or replace your prefilter sponges
I don't believe I have prefilter sponges. The first filter material is stone, and the second and last are sponges. All filter material is nice and clean (not too clean of course... I didn't take the washing up liquid to it ).

Quote:
Originally Posted by justDIY
clean the Aquastop valves, you will need to drain the hoses to do this. remove the aquastop and the hoses from the tank, and then open the valve over a sink / bucket to drain the hoses. now remove the valve from the hoses and run a brush through the intake and outlet, rinse the valve and then give it a scrub again.
Smashing... this seems to be something I didn't do... we might be on to something. I assume "Aquastop valves" are the values that are used to 'lock off' the pipes from the filter before removing the pipes from the filter box? If this is the case I think that they are already clear, but I will give them a look at.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justDIY
Hope this helps and, Welcome to Aquarium Advice
Thanks for the advice from yourself and everyone else... much appreciated. I think I will enjoy using this site .
__________________
jbrown03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2003, 01:25 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
hmm, according to hagen.com/uk, the a205 (fluval 204) is the same as the american version.

you have a set of coarse foam prefilter sponges located in a slide out tray next to where all the media baskets sit. On my fluval 404, these are what clog up first, and get cleaned most often.

check out this link, the prefilter sponges are #3 on the diagram

http://www.hagen.com/uk/aquatic/disp...01002050030101
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 07:04 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gloucester, England
Posts: 19
Thanks for all the advice. It turned out that the pipes were stuffed full with slime... strange. I Cleaned them out and all is well, the filter is again running as I would like.

Today I put some AC in to the filter (in a filter bag of course, and after rinsing it through) as I have not had any in for the last few months and thought it could do with it. After doing this I seem to have had a bacterial bloom (see pic below, although it's not very clear in it). It would appear now to be clearing up after 6 or so hours after starting. I have been reading through a few posts on this subject but could find no reference to what might cause a bacterial bloom... has anyone any gems of information?

Thanks...

__________________
jbrown03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 09:04 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
the bloom is caused by destroying a large portion of your biological filtration, ie, thorough cleaning of your filter and all it's bits and pieces.

the bacteria are having a field day recolonizing.

it will subside on it's own in a week or as soon as a few days - nothing you can really do about it.

nice looking setup - I like the "all black" look
__________________

__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parts for Fluval 204 verucaproduce Archive 0 05-23-2006 09:59 AM
just got a new fluval 204 help with media 875mill General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 23 01-22-2006 12:08 PM
Fluval 204 Question.. joedarat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-29-2004 10:30 AM
Fluval 204 or AC200? jlindseyjr General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-18-2004 11:25 PM
Fluval 204 nguyen27 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-18-2003 11:13 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.