Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-30-2014, 07:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ginty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 291
fluval 206 media trays???

i brought one of these off my friend for very cheap.it was leaking slightly so ive ordered a new gasket ring. is that correct?

it has 3 media trays. the bottom one is the sponge. 2nd is bio rings and the 3rd was empty.

whats the best thing to put in here??

any help or advice with this filter would be greatly appreciated.


Sent from my GT-I9300 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
ginty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
P220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: KY
Posts: 126
maybe some more bio-media or some purigen, then at least an inch of filter floss to polish?
I've set my ehiem up (which flows from bottom to top) with the noodle things at the bottom (you don't have those, so it's not relevant here), coarse foam, about an inch and a half of filter floss (to catch finer stuff, so my bio-media wont get clogged), then bio-media, lastly about an inch of more filter floss to polish.
__________________

__________________
P220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 11:20 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
dishsnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Western MA
Posts: 55
+1^ Cheap floss in the top trays of all mine too.
__________________
dishsnthings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 05:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ginty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 291
sorry if im acting dumb.

but is it ok to put bio balls/rings and a sponge in the same tray then??

i have one thick sponge in the bottom. bio rings in the 2nd and nothing in the 3rd. i feel i should put something in there, otherwise it seems to be a waste of a tray. is this order of my filter currently the correct order??

oh! and i have a long red tray with 4 long sponges in it. What is this called?
can i buy replicas because i cant find genuine fluval 206 ones.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ginty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 07:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
P220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: KY
Posts: 126
The order of media sounds correct... I dont have a fluval, but since that filter also flows from bottom to top, it should be fine.

Putting bio-balls/rings with a sponge in the same tray is ok to do... I just suggested putting filter floss last to help polish the water... so in that 3rd tray you can put more bio-balls/rings, and a sponge on top, if that's what you're talking about.

You should be able to get those foam filter blocks from Amazon/BigAl's/eBay (probably cheapest on eBay)... or you can cut your own.. just make sure the foam has no chemicals added to it
__________________
P220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 07:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ginty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by P220 View Post
The order of media sounds correct... I dont have a fluval, but since that filter also flows from bottom to top, it should be fine.

Putting bio-balls/rings with a sponge in the same tray is ok to do... I just suggested putting filter floss last to help polish the water... so in that 3rd tray you can put more bio-balls/rings, and a sponge on top, if that's what you're talking about.

You should be able to get those foam filter blocks from Amazon/BigAl's/eBay (probably cheapest on eBay)... or I suppose you can cut your own.. just make sure the foam has no chemicals added to it
thankyou for replying.
how often do i change the rings and balls. i have rings so in the middle. should i put a sponge on top of that and then put balls in the top with a sponge on thats too?

will this slow down water flow having all this sponge?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ginty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 07:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
P220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: KY
Posts: 126
You shouldn't ever have to change the rings/balls, unless they disintegrate.

And no, I'd just keep the middle tray full of bio-rings/balls. Then in the third, having bio-balls, and a sponge on top (if thats what you want to use) would work.

If I was setting up that filter, I'd have:
1st tray: Foam (like you already have)
2nd tray: Bio-media (like you already have)
3rd tray: more bio-media and filter floss on top of it. (you could also put purigen/other type of chemical filtration/whatever you want.. cept monsters, don't think they'd help)
__________________
P220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 09:08 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ginty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by P220 View Post
You shouldn't ever have to change the rings/balls, unless they disintegrate.

And no, I'd just keep the middle tray full of bio-rings/balls. Then in the third, having bio-balls, and a sponge on top (if thats what you want to use) would work.

If I was setting up that filter, I'd have:
1st tray: Foam (like you already have)
2nd tray: Bio-media (like you already have)
3rd tray: more bio-media and filter floss on top of it. (you could also put purigen/other type of chemical filtration/whatever you want.. cept monsters, don't think they'd help)
thankyou for your help.
what is purigen?


Sent from my GT-I9300 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ginty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 09:49 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
This is Purigen.

http://www.seachem.com/Products/prod...s/Purigen.html

I've never used it myself but hear that it's fabulous and rechargeable.
__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:52 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Burlington iowa
Posts: 6
media trays.

my kid decided to clean the 206 out a little and somehow lost the top lid for the media tray. now the impeller is acting up. clicking and driving me nuts and wont pump very good. i just making sure this is what is causing the problem. havent located the missing tray lid yet. we had the tank tore down too move it to another house and making sure omehow it didnt get damaged and this is why it is acting up. need advice thanks
__________________

__________________
iowaopie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, media, ray, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Fishneedit fixture and fluval 206 canister Mike1989 Archive 7 11-01-2012 08:18 PM
Fluval 206 armyman16 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 05-29-2012 03:12 AM
Fluval 206 vs 306 jstp18 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-18-2012 08:07 AM
Fluval 206 on sale for $59.99 on amazon.com maxwellag General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 11-25-2011 06:42 PM
Undergravel filter trays/power heads Gui101do Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-10-2010 09:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.