Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-17-2005, 12:17 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
I would check into it if I were you.. the coil brush works up to 5/8" inner diamiter tubing.. Im pretty sure you could find one that would work.. like a gun cleaning kit with a brush for a shotgun..LOL Im thinking that might set you back some 30 bucks though..
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 08:02 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
I use sponge prefilters on all of my cannisters as well as HOBs. Not only is this a good place to culture some of your bacteria colony, but it will prevent the tubing from getting clogged with debris. Expecially useful in a planted tank.
__________________

__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 10:08 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 224
BrianNY--for the prefilter, do you simply shove a sponge from a sponge filter into the intake or is there some more sophisticated way that this should be done?
__________________
cplawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 10:14 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
As I have many tanks I buy them in bulk at www.jehmco.com. The are sold as fully attachable units. Just match the diameter with your intake tube.

What I like about these, is they are engineered not to slow the gph rate too much. I've never been able to duplicate this with a DIY set up. Plus, they are quite inexpensive.

HTH

here's the exact link. http://www.jehmco.com/PRODUCTS_/FILT...e_filters.html
__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 11:38 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 224
That's fantastic--thank you BrianNY.
__________________
cplawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2005, 01:01 PM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
I think that may have been why two of my clams died recently.
Quote:
Yeah, my tubes are a bit tricker because the go through a UV on the way back into the tank.
I'm sure you know that clams are filter feeders, basically eat tiny micro-organisms. I'm also sure you already know that the UV kills almost all micro-organisms.
I think your clams had nothing to eat via filter feeding, and starved to death.
Pure conjecture on my part, I could be wrong.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2005, 01:07 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 4,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianNY
I use sponge prefilters on all of my cannisters as well as HOBs. Not only is this a good place to culture some of your bacteria colony, but it will prevent the tubing from getting clogged with debris. Expecially useful in a planted tank.
AHHH! Why can I not think of things like this?? That is an excellent idea!
__________________
Meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2005, 01:25 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 924
Send a message via AIM to Andos99
Quote:
I use sponge prefilters on all of my cannisters as well as HOBs
Best advice I've heard yet on this website....thats awesome!
__________________
If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when are you going to have time to do it over.
Andos99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 12:25 PM   #19
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Do you know what size I would need for my 304? Sounds like a good idea.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 02:00 PM   #20
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianNY
As I have many tanks I buy them in bulk at www.jehmco.com. The are sold as fully attachable units. Just match the diameter with your intake tube.
Brian, its a little more confusing than that, they have so many models its a little confusing. Can you reccommend the best one for the Fluval 304? Also, do you buy extra units or just replacement sponges when it wears out? If so, what model sponge, they have about 6?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with fluval 304 alex_g General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 04-06-2009 04:51 PM
Hagen's Fluval 304? shrek_vn2002 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 11-09-2008 08:43 PM
Fluval 304 pitt420dude General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 04-22-2008 09:25 PM
fluval 304 tbrock General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 05-31-2005 05:14 PM
Problem with Fluval 304... westward13 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 07-21-2004 09:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.