Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-22-2013, 05:11 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JRcichlids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London - England
Posts: 119
Fluval 305

hi guys my fluval 305 filter runs for 2-4 days then stops pumping water but if i turn it off then back on again it will work again for another 2-4 days then stop pumping again . any ideas as to what this could be due to ?
__________________

__________________
JRcichlids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 06:34 AM   #2
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,545
Does it get noisey before stopping? Just wondering if it could be a blockage somehow.
__________________

__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 07:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
owenhp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 30
It may need cleaned
__________________
owenhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 08:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
foster53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,626
Its a Fluval
__________________
foster53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by foster53 View Post
Its a Fluval
Lol what does that mean? And my inference is that either air is entering your filter somehow, your filter is not below the proper threshold for normal operation, or there is an issue with your impeller.
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 10:27 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JRcichlids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London - England
Posts: 119
it sound like its running dry then stops
__________________
JRcichlids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 10:40 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bob mccoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 1,441
take your impeller out clean and check it . make sure it is still glued to the magnet. make sure it stops when u spin it. clean the hole that it sits in and try again.
__________________
bob mccoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 11:03 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JRcichlids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London - England
Posts: 119
ok ill try that .
__________________
JRcichlids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 07:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
foster53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by bshenanagins View Post
Lol what does that mean? And my inference is that either air is entering your filter somehow, your filter is not below the proper threshold for normal operation, or there is an issue with your impeller.
I'm sure I'll catch a ration of doo over this statement, but in my opinion they are junk.
I've used several in the past that came with used set ups. And had trouble with every one of them. One was the cheesy ceramic impeller shaft breaking several times, another was the exact problem you are describing, another was the cheap locking handles breaking at the canister body, and most of them you couldn't get a good seal between the motor housing, and canister base. So they would suck air and either quit completely, or have a very low flow. Not to mention they are a PITA to prime.
That's what I meant by(because its a Fluval)
I wouldn't take one if it was the last filter available!!!
__________________
foster53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 04:58 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ole scratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 61
I concur with Fost53. I won't touch anything by Hagen. My Fluval 405 broke. My ac 110 broke. My first aqueon 55/75 is almost 2 years old and going strong. So I added another 55/75. My water is crystal clear and my parameters are almost perfect compared to when I ran just 1 55/75 with an ac 110. Just replace the 305 with 1 or 2 aqueon quite flows and you will be good. Throw the fluval bio media in the back of the 55/75's and you will have some of the best water that you could have this side of going to a complete wet/dry trickle system. And the aqueon's are a lot cheaper to buy and maintain than the fluval's. And a lot less of a hassle.
__________________

__________________
ole scratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, fluval 305, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.