Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-30-2012, 09:17 AM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
Have you found anything out about using an inline with a 406? I'm just starting to dig into this..

I'm replacing my Magnum 350 (5/8") that I had an Hydor 300w inline running with. I know the 406 is 3/4" but it is the ribbed tubing. I don't see how it will work with an inline heater's clamps.
__________________

__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 10:27 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
I've read mixed reviews of the inlines. Some people have had them overheat and kill their fish.
Here's one example: http://www.amazon.com/review/RVDI7U5...wasThisHelpful

I read a few others that suggest adding a thermostat. I think it would be great to not have the heater in the tank. But I think I'll wait till they become more reliable.
__________________

__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 10:29 AM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
Well I've used mine for almost a month on my Magnum 350. Kept the temps nice and stable. I'm not worried about the reliability of it so much as hooking up with the Fluval 406.

Thanks for getting back to me though!
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 10:39 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
Oops! That's what I get for answering before my morning coffee. I'm not sure how it would work. Wonder why they have ribbed tubing on it. Any way you could connect smooth tubing to ribbed with a tube and some clamps?
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 11:07 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
That's probably what I'm going to have to do and use some 5/8" to 3/4" reducers to get the tubing hooked up to the heater.
__________________

__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, fluval 406, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump vs Fluval fx5 for Freshwater Franckler General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-02-2011 02:17 PM
fluval filters user404 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-22-2011 08:53 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.