Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-20-2013, 01:36 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
dswiese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 87
Thanks, I havent had a chance to check for deadspots yet.
I have the output just to the left of the center brace aimed towards the front left glass with the intake in the back right corner.
My only thought so far is to move the output back near the intake and re-aim it towards the left end panel.
Might give the output time to slow down before hitting the glass.
Right now it feels a bit too much movement from the output to the front glass.
Figure a longer run end to end might be the answer
__________________

__________________
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 01:41 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
dswiese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 87
Hopefully a quick question ::

If I move the output a bit lower in the water, do I need it to break the water and produce some bubbles or just make waves on the surface ?
__________________

__________________
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:46 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
Yes, you need surface agitation. Moving it under the water line and aiming it down won't provide any surface agitation.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:52 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
dswiese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 87
Oh there is definitely surface agitation. the 55 isnt that deep front to back, so aimed at the front glass it def produces waves across the whole tank. its about 2-3 inches below the surface at the moment, was just wondering if it need to be a bit closer to the top to agitate some bubbles into the water?
__________________
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 02:53 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Heavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 202
Yeah I got my Fluval 405 running .I still have my (2) HOB. Also running. I like it because I can change add different set ups when it come to like media.
__________________
Heavy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 02:09 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
I guess I have mine setup a little different. My output is in the back right corner of the tank now, pumping water towards the front left corner. The intake is about two inches off the substrate in the back left corner.

Aiming it towards the front pane just creates too much turbulence, imo. My 75g is a little deeper front to back than a 55g, I can only imagine how much worse it is.

I think the 40x's provide plenty of room for media as is. I'm running sponges on bottom and side. Bio rings in next two and polyfill in the top.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 02:14 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
dswiese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 87
That's my planned layout as soon as I move the AC70 currently on that back section. Will have the intake an output close but aim the output down the length of the tank
__________________
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 02:34 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
I think you'll have a pile of waste and uneaten food at the opposite end of the tank with intake and output next to each other.

That is why I'm going with a spray bar eventually. I have a couple dead spots that catch waste and don't get pushed to the opposite corner and into the intake. I'm thinking the spray bar could eliminate these spots and give a nice gentle current across the bottom.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 03:11 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
dswiese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 87
That makes sense. May have to get some longer hoses. Can't fit the canister behind the tank it's off to the side at the moment. maybe not ideal but best fit.

spray bar sounds awesome but down the road for me. gotta space out the hobby purchase lol
__________________
dswiese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 03:13 PM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
From doing a bit of research it seems you can make a decent one for less than $15 in parts at home depot.
__________________

__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, fluval, fluval 406, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.