Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-29-2012, 06:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 10
Fluval C2 stopped -- 3 months old

I unplugged my fluval C2 filter to clean the tank as I always do. When I went to plug it back in nothing happened -- there's not even a sound that it's trying to work.

Is there anything I can do to try and get it working again?

I also am worried about keeping everything wet so I don't have a fish-filled tank that will need to recycle because all of the bacteria dies...any suggestions?

How long will the tank be ok without a filter? I do have a REALLY old 10 gallon filter that is trying to run but only managing a trickle, with that keep the fish ok in my 20 gallon tank?

Does anyone know if I go out a buy an emergency filter big enough to handle my tank is there any way to get the Hagen company to comp me for it along with the filter that isn't working?
__________________

__________________
iheartcories is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 06:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lunchbox209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: stockton CA
Posts: 397
Have you tried wiggling your impeller sometimes they get stuck that's what happens to me sometimes
__________________

__________________
Lunchbox209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 10
I've jiggled just about everything I can think of. What gets me is the complete silence -- it's like the motor isn't even trying to do anything.
__________________
iheartcories is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lunchbox209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: stockton CA
Posts: 397
What about the outlet
__________________
Lunchbox209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 10
Yes, I've tested the outlet and it works, and I tried plugging the filter into other nearby outlets just in case.
__________________
iheartcories is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 09:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North Qld, Australia
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by iheartcories View Post
I've jiggled just about everything I can think of. What gets me is the complete silence -- it's like the motor isn't even trying to do anything.
In most submersed pumps if the impeller cannot turn then you probably wont get a noise at all. Did you remove the impeller and make sure it's nice and clean?
__________________
phreeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 03:20 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lunchbox209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: stockton CA
Posts: 397
If its still not working try using your old filter and call the company I'm sure they would have at least a One year warranty
__________________
Lunchbox209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 04:22 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
Oh man... I just bought a C2 and love the filter. I hope there isn't some sort of quality issue.

Anyway, the Aqua Clears and the C2 are both made by Hagen and share the same impeller assembly. The same thing happened to my AC20 when I was doing a PWC. It was completely dead when I re-plugged everything. What I did to fix it was empty out the filter completely of media, sponge, and water. I then removed the impeller assembly and removed the impeller. I cleaned out everything as thoroughly as I could with some cotton swabs (there was a bunch of brownish gunk in there). I reinstalled everything and plugged it back (remember to fill it back with water and not run it dry). To my delight, it started right back up!!!! Give it a shot, hope it works!
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 12:27 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
Were you able to fix the C2 after all?
__________________

__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broken, filter, fluval, stopped, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval Edge nano reef FishN00b83 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 201 02-24-2013 06:38 AM
My Fluval Roma 200 jondamon New Acquisitions 80 04-26-2012 06:11 PM
opinions on Fluval U2 filter? Gingimaru Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 03-29-2012 08:05 AM
OLD Betta Bits Food?? ocminpin Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 03-28-2012 07:28 PM
African Elephant Nose and Fluval Edge aquariummiami Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 03-27-2012 10:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.