Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-27-2015, 07:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Fluval C4?

Does the Fluval C4 self prime/restart in case of a power outage?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 07:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
icydeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,294
It will (as long as you still have some water in it), but it may take a few seconds to a minute.
__________________

__________________
icydeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 07:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 504
it will hold the water for a little while then lose syphon. you have to fill the back again with water
__________________
Quest84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 09:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
No problem here

I turn my C4 off when I feed my fish every day. It always self primes just fine when I turn it back on .... as much as an hour later. It seems to me this simulates a power outage. Longest power outage we've had here at the house in less than an hour.

I leave my C4 running during water changes. I can take 8 gallons out of a 29 gallon tank (which probably holds 27 gallons considering substrate, etc) and the water flow keeps going just fine doing almost a 30% water change.
__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 09:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
I'm just concerned when I'm not home that it will self prime during a power outage . Few months ago some drunk ran into a pole and took out our power for 6 hours. My Aqueon 55 / 75 kicked back on immediately when the electricity wad restored .
.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 10:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ppo8820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 393
It will. They only lose suction when the water level drops down like when you do a water change. You can hear the gurgle and swoosh when they lose their suction in a water change. In a full tank, they will not lose their water and will not need to be re-primed manually in a power failure. Great filters btw, I have 2 on my tank and I LOVE them.
__________________
ppo8820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 11:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppo8820 View Post
It will. They only lose suction when the water level drops down like when you do a water change. You can hear the gurgle and swoosh when they lose their suction in a water change. In a full tank, they will not lose their water and will not need to be re-primed manually in a power failure. Great filters btw, I have 2 on my tank and I LOVE them.
Dumb question your talking about the C4 right?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 01:52 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
icydeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stacey W. View Post
I'm just concerned when I'm not home that it will self prime during a power outage . Few months ago some drunk ran into a pole and took out our power for 6 hours. My Aqueon 55 / 75 kicked back on immediately when the electricity wad restored .
.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
When I read that I thought they smacked their head on the pole and took out the power. I now realize they were drunk driving...
__________________
“Books are my friends, my companions. They make me laugh and cry and find meaning in life.” ― Christopher Paolini, Eragon
"By books you mean fish, right?" ― Raymond
icydeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 01:53 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
icydeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stacey W. View Post
Dumb question your talking about the C4 right?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
It applies to most filters. As long as water level doesn't drop below the intake, it will power back up after a minute or less.
__________________
“Books are my friends, my companions. They make me laugh and cry and find meaning in life.” ― Christopher Paolini, Eragon
"By books you mean fish, right?" ― Raymond
icydeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 07:51 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by icydeath View Post
When I read that I thought they smacked their head on the pole and took out the power. I now realize they were drunk driving...
Lol. Imagine the cranium on that dude.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval CO2 20 System - Replacement Canisters(Non-Fluval) gre General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 08-01-2012 12:06 AM
Is there any differences between the fluval 405 and fluval 406? Banana mouse General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 06-02-2012 01:41 PM
Fluval Pre-filter vs. Fluval Bio Rings Jill Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 03-17-2012 02:12 PM
Is the Fluval surface skimmer compatible with the larger Fluval FX5? Togliat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 12-02-2011 01:52 AM
Fluval ClearMax Insert For Fluval 205 Oscarr19 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 08-11-2011 04:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.