Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-14-2014, 08:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
Fluval C4 -Ceramic Media vs Factory C-Nodes

I'd like to gradually switch out the factory C-Nodes in the bio media trays in my two Fluval C3's on my 38 gallon tank for ceramic media. The C-Nodes tend to "dissolve" over time and the pores tend to clog.

Specifically, I'd like to use the Fluval Bio Max Ceramic Rings (made for cannisters):

Amazon.com : Fluval Biomax Bio Rings - 500 grams/17.63 ounces : Aquarium Filter Accessories : Pet Supplies

Has anyone tried this? Are they small enough to fit into the tray like the C-Nodes do?

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

Note: I have some Seachem Matrix and many of the "rocks" are to big in size to fit into the tray.
__________________

__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 08:36 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
That's what's in mine.. better yet.. just get a jar of seachem matrix. .

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 06:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
That's what's in mine.. better yet.. just get a jar of seachem matrix. .

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
*********
Thanks ... I am going to place an order for some of the Fluval ceramic rings indicated above.

BTW: I still have about a third of "jar" of Seachem Matrix and there is some of it in both my C3's, the chemical chamber of my C4 (along with 2 Purigens), and a bag of it in my AC50. Problem is the size of many of the "rocks" is just too big for the C3 tray to get maximum surface area and I had to pick out only "smaller rocks" to add to the factory C-Nodes.
__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, media, ram, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing ceramic media for my Fluval U2 Pleco1415 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-30-2014 04:21 PM
Ceramic Filter Media Maltimomma Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 12-11-2011 01:02 AM
How often do you change your ceramic media? eco23 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 04-26-2011 05:40 PM
Changing Fluval Biomax ceramic media hopalong_70 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-09-2005 07:25 PM
Ceramic ring media shawmutt Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 09-30-2004 03:51 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.