Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-18-2014, 12:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,684
Fluval C4 Not Working

I've had my Fluval C4 for a number if months now and been great but I woke up today and it's just stopped working. Everything is plugged into the same power strip and everything else is working but the C4? I can feel the impeller part vibrating and it's warm but waters not coming up the intake tube. It's primed and everything. What can I do?
__________________

__________________
CanadianWaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 01:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Push your finger down on the impeller tube and see if you can nudge it to start spinning, happens to my ac20..
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 02:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
Yes they do clog up

Every now and then, I have to take off the intake tube and poke an ice pick down there to get the impeller to turn properly when I turn the unit off for feeding and try to re-start it and nothing happens.

After a few months, you really need to take off the motor and clean the impeller and other surface areas off with a Q-Tip or equivalent just like the instructions say.
This is normal maintenance for both Fluval C and AquaClears .... and frankly, for most HOB's.
__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 03:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by earlywaters View Post
I've had my Fluval C4 for a number if months now and been great but I woke up today and it's just stopped working. Everything is plugged into the same power strip and everything else is working but the C4? I can feel the impeller part vibrating and it's warm but waters not coming up the intake tube. It's primed and everything. What can I do?
Take the filter out of the tank. Drain it and remove the motor. Give it a good clean, then plug it in briefly and see if it works. Have you got sand substrate??. Could be a tiny particle of sand.....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 04:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,684
Well I gave it a good clean and it's running like new! Thanks! Should I clean it like this every few months then?
__________________
CanadianWaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 10:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by earlywaters View Post
Well I gave it a good clean and it's running like new! Thanks! Should I clean it like this every few months then?
Yeah it would be no harm. After you give it a good clean, give it a thin coat of vaseline. It will replace the slime coat that naturally occurs over time.....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 11:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 106
Yeah whenever my C3 doesn't restart after a PWC I know it's due for a cleaning, usually every 2-3 months. It is noisy at first, but after a day or two it's quiet again.

I've tried using vaseline before, and it ended up at the bottom of the motor in a greasy clump. It smelled bad, and was a pain to clean up. I probably put too much vaseline on (I did it when the filter was new and sounded like a sewing machine), so it was my fault. I've heard of many people using the vaseline trick without issue.

I just wait for the slime to lube it. Once the filter has been running for awhile it doesn't take long to quiet back down.
__________________

__________________
anibis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval FX5 not working! PontiacFan87 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 10-11-2013 04:43 PM
Co2 Diffuser not working, and not sure why Kalel Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 15 09-08-2013 08:28 PM
Fluval stopped working again help?? Banana mouse Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-10-2012 08:27 AM
Fluval u2 not working. Help!! Fishies86 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 10-05-2011 03:57 AM
Sort option on Kudos page is not working. cmor1701d Forum Admin & Announcements 2 05-14-2003 09:23 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.