Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-27-2010, 02:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Fluval e50 fully submersible?

I'm new to this water heating stuff and reading the manual of my Fluval e50 is rather confusing.

It says: "[...] The heater must be immersed in water at least up to the MIN. WATER LEVEL "min." indicated (but without exceeding the depth of 100cm - 39 inches). [...]"

To my understanding, this means that the heater is fully submersible to at least a meter. It also says that the top part of the heater is a "Watertight safety seal".

But then there's a picture that seems to mean to not put it underwater.

I'm confused... Can this thing go fully underwater or not?

Thanks,

Old 12-27-2010, 03:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

I know *exactly* what you're talking about. When I was looking to replace my heaters, I had the same question, so I ended up buying a different brand heater! Wonder how many sales Fluval has lost for the confusing markings/literature?

Old 12-27-2010, 04:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

The Fluval E is fully submersible. I experienced the same concerns when reading their instructions until I figured it out:

The pictures that are "don't do" -- are saying that the heater must be mounted.

- One of the pictures shows the heater just hanging by the power cord, which is bad.

- The other picture shows it laying on the bottom of the tank, which is bad.

As long as the Heater is completely underwater, and it's suctioned to a wall, you should be golden.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Vircomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 04:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I should add that the Fluval E comes with a "mounting bracket" - you don't need to use that as long as the standard suction cups on the back work fine.