Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-07-2008, 08:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 250
Fluval Fx5

I just got finished with a partial water change on my 75 and it seems as if everytime i do one, and after I prime my fluval fx5, it releases a bunch of junk into the aquarium. The small particles will float around the tank after everything is turned back on for an hour or so. Those of you that run a Fluval FX5, do you have this problem too ? Should I be rinsing the canister out in rodi water every partial water change? Im kinda wondering if this stuff could be building up somewhere inside my filter.

Also I was wondering if should take the foam blocks out of the cannister, I clean them in old saltwater every three weeks, however Im not sure if that is enough to keep them from causing nitrate problems down the road.

Thanks for the help all
__________________

__________________
JoshsReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 09:03 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
You should be rinsing the canister of any excess gunk along with the media if it is building up considerably. You can also place a filter sock at the return upon initial restart and remove once the line has cleared. What are the compartments made up of?
__________________

__________________
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 09:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 250
I run two compartments or lr rubble. I run one compartment with chemi pure elite and purigen. I clean the foam pabs in old saltwater every time I open up the cannister. Should i run fresh salwater through the lr rubble ?

Also it seems to pump a lot less water than it did a few months ago , I wonder if there is some gunk somewhere slowing it down.
__________________
JoshsReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 09:38 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Sounds as if something is blocking the water flow. Check the chemical media as they can get clogged easily, especially if in mesh bags. The lr probably drops detritus so you would want to siphon that out as well. You can use the foam blocks as a microbubble eliminator or first stage within the canister.
__________________
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 09:58 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion. This is the proper forum for this. That way Salties and freshies can see this post.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 10:58 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I run one. You should rinse the media (LR) in your old SW so as not to kill your beneficial bacteria. The FX5 has two output returns (just so you know James) and would need two socks. I think if you rinse it out that gunk will be little to none. I took the foam blocks out of mine. I think there are two for each basket (three baskets total).
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 01:36 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatatonicBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post
I run one. You should rinse the media (LR) in your old SW so as not to kill your beneficial bacteria. The FX5 has two output returns (just so you know James) and would need two socks. I think if you rinse it out that gunk will be little to none. I took the foam blocks out of mine. I think there are two for each basket (three baskets total).
Two output returns?? Mine only has two hoses - One for in, one for out. How does it have 2 outputs? There is a drain at the bottom that should be cleared regularly to get rid of the settling gunk, but that's not a return hose.
__________________
CatatonicBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 10:10 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
It has one hose with two adjustable output nozzles. I'm sorry, I should have been clearer.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 11:20 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 62
The sock is a good idea. That gunk builds up in the ribbed hoses. All my fluvals do that. I just have'nt changed the hoses, bigger worries. The sock is a pain but works.
__________________
duke33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 11:25 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatatonicBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by duke33 View Post
The sock is a good idea. That gunk builds up in the ribbed hoses. All my fluvals do that. I just have'nt changed the hoses, bigger worries. The sock is a pain but works.
For cleaning the hoses, I haven't tried it yet, but I have an idea that might work. When I was in school, I played the trumpet, and had a small snake-type brush for cleaning the inside of the instrument. I have also seen larger ones for Trombones. The trombone one might work well for the inside of the ribbed hosing. Just an idea...
__________________

__________________
CatatonicBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, fluval fx5, fx5, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval FX5 JoshsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 18 01-17-2008 06:26 PM
Fluval FX5 JoshsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-24-2007 04:03 PM
Fluval FX5 wobbles General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-22-2007 09:27 PM
Can this work with a fluval FX5? GuOD DIY Projects 13 01-01-2007 10:31 AM
FLUVAL FX5 Going back to lfs! trotty Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 04-08-2006 12:01 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.