Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2011, 03:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Elitehunter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 186
Fluval fx5

Ok I'm having an issue with a Fluval fx5 filter. I purchased it used with along with a 125 gallon set up, where it was working fine.

So I filled the tank once I got it home, the water was pretty sandy, because it hadn't settled. Also I didn't have enough water in the filter when I started it. So I turned it on and I heard it running, but it wasn't moving water (I'm assuming because it didn't have enough water). So after about 10 minutes it was not running anymore. I removed it, cleaned all the sand out, and filled it with the appropriate amount of water. I put it back together and turn it on, and now I can't even hear that's it's running.

Is there a fuse, or reset switch? Or something that can be recommended to replace or troubleshoot?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Elitehunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 03:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
I have a fluval FX5, there is no reset switch, however whenever I have gotten sand in it, I have to make sure I get all the sand out. Are you filling it all the way before turning it on? I find that having it full of water is the only way it runs.
__________________

__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 03:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Elitehunter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 186
Yes but now it's not coming on at all
__________________
Elitehunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 03:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
There are screws on the side motor unit, unscrew them and clean out the impellor and see if that helps.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 03:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HUKIT's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zagz View Post
There are screws on the side motor unit, unscrew them and clean out the impellor and see if that helps.
That's the best place to start by checking the impeller for debris. Here's a link in case you don't have the manual.

http://www.hagen.com/pdf/aquatic/FX5_user_manual_EN.pdf
__________________
Those Who Lack The Courage Will Always Find A Philosophy To Justify It.

HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 09:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Did you get the fluval working?
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Elitehunter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 186
Sure did! Pulled the motor apart, plugged it in and boom! Works like a charm now!
__________________
Elitehunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
That's great I'm glad it worked. It's a great filter.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 02:33 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Elitehunter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 186
My fluval is producing a ton of micro bubbles!?
__________________

__________________
Elitehunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, fluval fx5, fx5, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fluval filters user404 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-22-2011 08:53 PM
newbie to aquariums - fluval edge -help needed devine Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-22-2011 08:24 PM
woohoo! fluval 305! Vamptramp3405 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-12-2011 11:57 AM
Hubert's Fluval Edge Build Thread! Hubert90 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 07-10-2011 03:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.