Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-21-2011, 07:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,323
Fluval FX5 micro bubbles

Hello. I just want to know if I can run the FX5 without the filter pad. I think when it gets clogged it creates micro bubbles. Can I just take the pad out? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Comprehensive List of Plant Profiles
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-153985.html
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 11:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HUKIT's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
I don't run any pads in mine with every tray filled with Biomax and still had microbubbles. Fluval has a updated lid to prevent them. The new lid doesnt have the down spout suction tube. They provided 3 to me free of charge and this cured my problem.
__________________

__________________
Those Who Lack The Courage Will Always Find A Philosophy To Justify It.

HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 11:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by HUKIT
I don't run any pads in mine with every tray filled with Biomax and still had microbubbles. Fluval has a updated lid to prevent them. The new lid doesnt have the down spout suction tube. They provided 3 to me free of charge and this cured my problem.
You contacted them and they gave you those for free?
__________________
Comprehensive List of Plant Profiles
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-153985.html
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:38 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HUKIT's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Yeah I'm running 3 FX/5's at the moment and explained what kind of media I was using and of course I using 6 boxes of Biomax per filter with no pads or carbon if any kind. They didn't ask for serial numbers, receipts or proof of chase(all of which I had from eBay) and they even sent them express shipping for th le total price of $0.00. Customer service was great and this solved my problems, also make sure your no overtly ting the lid too which can warp the lower housing and create air leaks. I tighten all mine like I'm installing a tire and just criss cross bolts and just snug.
__________________
Those Who Lack The Courage Will Always Find A Philosophy To Justify It.

HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:47 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,323
That's also what I do when I put the lid on.

When I attached the filter to my CO2 reactor, there is no more micro bubbles. Except for the CO2 bubbles.

Where can you find the serial number? Just in-case they ask for it. I don't want to move the filter. The micro bubbles might come back again. I'll ask for a new lid. So, that is what making the bubbles? Good thing they fixed and are willing to replace the lids. Thanks for the information.
__________________
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 03:29 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 67
I have the same problem with my Filstar XP 3. It had stopped for a while then I did my water change and started right up again.
__________________
louie4979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 07:59 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
BinxBolling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by roydooms

You contacted them and they gave you those for free?
Im curious - is that (the absence of the downspout) the only difference in the new lid? Could one just remove that downspout?
__________________
BinxBolling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:09 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
I skimmed through the thread but I have a huge micro bubble issue with my fx5. I've cleaned everything and thought it might be debris in the water so I added an AC 110 with filter floss. I unplugged my 2 Rena 300 pumps, didn't help. I unplugged the fx5 and the micro bubbles went away and the water was amazingly clear!! I don't have dirty water by any means but micro bubbles just ruin a nice show tank.

I plug the fx5 back in... And bam!! Micro bubble city!! Drives me crazy!!

I'll be watching this thread closely for advice and answers.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:56 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
OBEYtheFISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bridgetown
Posts: 1,194
What kind of reactor do you have on your Fx5?
__________________
OBEYtheFISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:02 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by OBEYtheFISH
What kind of reactor do you have on your Fx5?
Reactor? I'm sorry I don't know what that means. It's a stock fx5 with pre filter rings and then 2 trays of bio media rings and the sponges around all 3 trays. The stock inlet and outlet.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bubble, bubbles, fluval, fluval fx5, fx5, micro, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval fx5 help! vonnie89 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 04-19-2011 08:16 AM
fluval fx5 help ? xJIMx General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-06-2010 09:06 AM
fluval fx5 VonUberReefer General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 04-18-2010 10:04 PM
Fluval FX5 JoshsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-24-2007 04:03 PM
Fluval FX5 wobbles General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-22-2007 09:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.