Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-27-2016, 12:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: alberta
Posts: 8
Fluvall 304 good enough for 100!galloons

hey guys, just a bit curious if any of you have experienced the fluvall 304. I got a free one with my aquarium. Curious if any of yous think it would do fine with 100 gallon tank.
__________________

__________________
Joshuabeebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 08:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Keybler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 88
It may be undersized for 100 gallon community tank. The 304 is an older model, as now fluval is up to series 6 (306). You may want to look into the 406 rated up to 100 gallons. A lot of it depends on population and the number of filter media baskets.


I would give it a try since you own it.


Another thought, These can filters need the media changed every so often. Since yours may be undersized, the changes may need to happen sooner.
__________________

__________________
Keybler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 08:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: alberta
Posts: 8
What is a media? Where could I get replacements?
__________________
Joshuabeebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 08:38 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Keybler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 88
Filter media is like carbon bags, foam, bio rings (Biomax), bio foam, etc etc. Google Fluval filter media. I buy everything online, so check this out.


http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=a9_asi_1...qid=1456619296




The 304 should have 4 foam blocks, and 3 baskets. Everything in the filter needs to be replaced at some point, but not at the same time. If you received a used fluval 304, I would start by buying all new "Media". Any beneficial biological bacteria (and yes bacteria is important) will die if the filter is dry for an extended period of time.


For a start, I would get all new...


4x foam blocks (vertical foam blocks),
Biomax (500g)
Carbon
Polishing pads.


All this assuming the 304 will be enough for 100g tank. The good news with fluval can's, most everything can be transferred from the 304, to the 406 (minus the vertical foam blocks, as they change in height). Setup your filter, run the tank for a week or 2. Check water conditions before spending a lot of money on fish or plants.
__________________
Keybler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
100g, fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluvall e300 Heater Problems Fishmutt General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 06-27-2012 04:43 PM
Is a Fluvall 404 enough? chadthedad Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 05-14-2008 12:40 AM
100 Watts heater enough for 29 gallon? swanandmokashi General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 23 02-23-2005 07:14 PM
Do I Have Enough Filtration for 100 Gallons? Chiselchst Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 04-13-2004 08:05 PM
Emperor 400 vs Fluval 304 cybercron General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 11-14-2003 04:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.