Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-17-2013, 11:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Fresh water filtration

I am fairly new to the hobby. I have a new 90 gallon tank I am looking to put cichlids or oscars or peacock bass in it . What is the best option for quiet filtration? I was wondering if hooking a canister filter to a under gravel filter would work good but I have never seen it done. I would think pulling all the water through the gravel would help the breakdown of particulates. I don't like filters that hang on the back of the tank .any advice would be appreciated.

Old 11-17-2013, 11:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aarony View Post
I am fairly new to the hobby. I have a new 90 gallon tank I am looking to put cichlids or oscars or peacock bass in it . What is the best option for quiet filtration? I was wondering if hooking a canister filter to a under gravel filter would work good but I have never seen it done. I would think pulling all the water through the gravel would help the breakdown of particulates. I don't like filters that hang on the back of the tank .any advice would be appreciated.
I don't think that the canister to the undergravel will work. I would suggest a very large canister. Look for how many gallons per hour the filter does, and reduce that by at least 25% because that will be the flow with the filter media in it. Try to have the tank cycle through 8 times if you choose african cichlids, and 10+ for a single oscar. A peacock bass will not fit in a 90 gallon.

Old 11-17-2013, 11:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic