Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-03-2011, 10:11 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenner, louisiana
Posts: 593
Freshwater sump?

So I just recently bought a reef ready saltwater setup. It is a 90 gallon with a 20g sump. Would I be able to use this in freshwater? What about a protein skimmer? Basically would a saltwater setup be a good idea to use with freshwater?
__________________

__________________
somethingsfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 11:14 AM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
It will work fine. The bigger sump the better. The skimmer will be useless, sell it on craigslist.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 11:17 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenner, louisiana
Posts: 593
Thanks. Would i need to do anything different? Does a sump provide mechanical filtration as well as biological? What should go in the sump?
__________________
somethingsfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 11:40 AM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
A sump will provide both, but how effectively they do it is debated. IME a canister is more effective at mechanical, but with the tank already drilled and plumbed to run a sump I think it is easier for you to stick with the sump layout. Both provide adequate biological filtration.

Any pics of the sump? That will determine what goes where.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 11:58 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenner, louisiana
Posts: 593
Haven't picked it up yet. Im new to dumps and drilled tanks so is there anything I should look for that will tell if it's a bad deal. Where should the tank be drilled at? I would hate to get jipped.
__________________
somethingsfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 12:06 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Is it new or used?

If it is reef-ready it should have a built-in overflow that will have two holes drilled in the bottom of the tank, one for drain and a slightly smaller one for the return.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 12:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenner, louisiana
Posts: 593
It is a couple of years old. It is reef ready but i wasn't sure if the holes should be in a certain spot. I have the craigslist pictures if it will help. Maybe you can see if it's a good deal.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1769309303.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	44.8 KB
ID:	46212   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1038153029.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	58.6 KB
ID:	46213  

__________________
somethingsfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 12:21 PM   #8
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Looks like it has a built-in overflow centered on the back wall, not a bad option.

When you get it take some pics of the sump and we can let you know how to set it up.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:02 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenner, louisiana
Posts: 593
Ok so I got the tank but I forgot the pictures. So let's begin with the questions again...
Do I have to put anything in the tank or can my equipment go in the sump( heater bubble stone etc)?
Can I put my old filter on the sump tank to seed the main tank or just put all media from old filter into sump compartments?
It is a three section sump... What goes in each?
Can I use live sand or will it harm my livestock? What about live rock? ( I know it's not live and may not become live)
That's what I've got now. I should probably start a build thread.
__________________
somethingsfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 11:31 AM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Live sand and rock are for marine tanks.

Yes, the filter can run on the sump to seed it.

Yes, almost all equipment can go in the sump. I still prefer air stones in the display.

We need pics to tell you exactly how it needs to be laid out.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freshwater, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
freshwater sump johnnyboy1219 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 08-05-2011 10:48 PM
55 gallon sump help! johnnyboy1219 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 08-02-2011 05:21 PM
Sump pump size donh DIY Projects 7 07-21-2011 03:00 PM
Ideas for freshwater sump. Frivolous? Aquatic_Adam Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-14-2011 09:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.